Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Opinions on Lattice xPLD performance

Status
Not open for further replies.

jay_ec_engg

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
155
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
India
Activity points
1,581
how to assign pins with lattice

Hi freinds..
have anyone worked on Lattice xPLD... how good it is for fitting.. and hows the isplever tool ?? is it comfortable ?
 

lucbra

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
514
Helped
73
Reputation
146
Reaction score
63
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Belgium
Activity points
3,251
Re: Lattice xPLD

The XPLD is quite flexible. I found that fitting a design in a std CPLD harder than fitting it in XPLD.
I have now ispLEVER 4.2 - runs smoothly

Regards,
 

my_garden

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
664
Lattice xPLD

HI jay_ec_engg,
Be carefule if you use XPLD's ram resource. It will make the P&R difficulty. And do not try to lock the pin by yourself, let the software to assign the pin itself.
And use the version later than 4.1. Try to use the 3rd part EDA software to fit the HDL, and then use LEVER to compile the edf file.
 

jay_ec_engg

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
155
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
India
Activity points
1,581
Re: Lattice xPLD

Hi my_garden..

Is there any difficulty in assigning pins by ourselves ???
I already assign pins for hardware.. and coding is half the way...

Please reply me

Jay
 

my_garden

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
664
Lattice xPLD

Hi Jay_ec_engg,
If you haven't use XPLD's memory resource, you do not need to care assigning pins.
Because the ram resource wasting too many router resource.
 

jay_ec_engg

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
155
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
India
Activity points
1,581
Re: Lattice xPLD

Do you know about SRAM configuration option with XPLD ?
How exactly can we implement it ???
RAM which u are talking about is this SRAM for configuration or RAM used for our application ???

Jay
 

my_garden

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
664
Lattice xPLD

HI Jay,
The Ram i talking about is the ram which is configed from MFB.
XPLD can be programmed like a CPLD. Do not to care its configuration progress.
 

eBond

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jul 7, 2005
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,314
Re: Lattice xPLD

Hey Jay now you can try with LAttice XP device as its teh best noon Volatile FPGA Infinite times reconfigurable.. try that out .. if you need an hekp lemme know
 

jay_ec_engg

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2004
Messages
155
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
India
Activity points
1,581
Re: Lattice xPLD

Havae u used this FPGA ?? I herad of it but do not get any response from others about how good it is...do u find it flexible and easy ?
 

my_garden

Member level 4
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Messages
79
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
664
Lattice xPLD

Hi Jay,
XP and XO are the new products of Lattice. These two products use the same XP technology just like XPLD. But they are much cheaper than XPLD. They are all LUT base device. XP is focus on low cost FPGA, XO is focus on large CPLD.
 

soccer

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
172
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,186
Lattice xPLD

what is a xpld?
 

lucbra

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
514
Helped
73
Reputation
146
Reaction score
63
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Belgium
Activity points
3,251
Re: Lattice xPLD

XPLD is just a name that Lattice has used to distinguish between this device family and a standard CPLD.
This device has FPGA I/O options, Memory and PLL's, and it also configures through a parallel uP bus besides the standard JTAG/B-Scan.

Regards
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top