Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DMA (Direct memory access)

Status
Not open for further replies.

amiraltaf221

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am studying DMA and I have questions regarding to DMA. Questions are listed below, everyone will be highly appreciated to answer them and help me to understand the working of DMA. If you find any question IP specific then kindly give its general answer.
Q1) When DMA is a flow controller, in which condition hardware handshaking interface will be used or software handshaking interface will be used for either source or destination peripherals?
Q2) Is the hardware handshaking interface also includes single and burst request signals along with request and acknowledge signals?
Q3) When source or destination peripheral is flow controller then why hardware handshaking interface is not supported?
Q4) When DMA is a flow controller (means DMA knows the block size and DMA should transfer the data using maximum possible bursts and where possible using single or early-terminated burst), then why do peripherals request for single or burst transactions?
Q5) For peripheral-to-memory, memory-to-peripheral and peripheral-to-peripheral single or multi-block transfers, if the peripheral is either source or destination then address to read from source and address to write on destination should be fixed throughout the single or multi-block transfer. Is this a correct statement?