Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ARM SoC Design, Need help getting started

Status
Not open for further replies.

tariq786

Advanced Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi Guys,

I am an ASIC / FPGA designer who can write verilog code, synthesize it and Place & Route it.

I am new to the ARM world. I am wondering how can i take a verilog code and convert it into ARM assembly. What is the tool chain required and where to get that?

I am also confused about what to use when i hear so many terms like ARM Artisan Physical IP, Logic IP, Standard Cell, Embedded Memory Compilers, Interface IP.

Can someone highlight what are these, when and where to use each of them.

Any pointers or tutorials will be highly appreciated.

THanks

Kind Regards,

Hi tariq786,
ARM is a processor which need some assembly code to execute a program, there is no relation with Verilog!
The Verilog is used to code the behavior of the processor ARM.
Logic IP = standard cell
Memory compiler is a the name said a tool to generate the memory instance you need to be used in your design.
Interface IP is for example an USB ip, for this example normally two parts one physical due to particular pads needed for USB and the second part at RTL level or macro already placed which contain all needed for USB protocol. but it could be an I2C, SPI, UART...

Hi RCA

Dude thanks for the reply. Actually, i have a verilog code for cortex M0 processor. I am wondering how should i utilize it?

Thanks for clearing the picture a bit.

The ARM processor used the Amba bus to access the memories (ram/rom/eeprom) and interfaces (via registers mapping).