Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why pcb wires looks like loops?

Status
Not open for further replies.

yikes

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,

I am a student trying to learn as much as posible about electronics. This is my first post in edaboard.
Some time ago, a friend gave me a TFT controller board from Techtoys. It is a SSD1963 controller board.
Since i received it i was wondering why the designer of the board made some traces (a lot of traces) that looks like loops or similar.

tft.jpg

above there is a screen capture from the manual that shows the traces. They are the RGB and other signals that goes from the controller chip to the TFT connector.
What is the reason that these traces was made like loops? I was looking for information (in google) about this without success.

Thanks.

I think this can be some inductor.

But this looks like very creapy. This looks like as they wanted to occupy the space so something else that cannot be placed there.

Last edited:

Dear yikes and Dear tpetar
Hi
I'm agree with tpetar .
Those are inductors ( like and RFC ) to block high frequency , AC signal . and at high frequencies we can design our inductors with lines of PCB ( because the inductors that we need at those frequencies , can't exceed from some hundred or some , nano henry.
Best Things
Goldsmith

Also, people do that to try to keep trace lengths the same (e.g. if you had a clock with balanced output, then you would want the delay to be exactly the same).

Now it is more clear to me.
Very thank you all for your answers.