Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What step to run Prime Time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

GoodMan

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 30, 2002
Messages
125
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
646
Hi all,

Can someone tell me about STA step?
What step to run Prime Time for STA? synthesis or layout


3Q
 

wadaye

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
213
Helped
12
Reputation
24
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,906
Hi GoodMan,

You can run STA after Synthesis or layout. It's depend on your company's flow.
 

cdncrk

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Oct 24, 2004
Messages
20
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
76
GoodMan said:
Hi all,

Can someone tell me about STA step?
What step to run Prime Time for STA? synthesis or layout


3Q

there is a prime time tutorial in SOLD
 

eda_wiz

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Nov 7, 2001
Messages
654
Helped
57
Reputation
114
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
6,195
Two types of STA..

pre layout STA --after synthesis
post layout STA ==after layout..

its not just a single step.. lots of iterations are involved to fix all problems
 

aegean.chou

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 16, 2002
Messages
63
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
China
Activity points
446
Read design
Set environment
Set constrain
Report timing
 

honeyxyb

Member level 2
Joined
Nov 16, 2004
Messages
46
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
373
book " Advanced Asic Chip Synthesis " show a normal sta flow about pre/pos layout. You can download from Edaboard.
 

horzonbluz

Full Member level 4
Joined
May 1, 2002
Messages
208
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,530
1. Set your PrimeTime env
2. Set your library
3. Read your design and link it to your tech library.
4. Read your clock and constraints.
5. Run PrimeTime to checkand report your paths in your design.
 

haosg

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Messages
103
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
968
when you run post-apr sta, remember you need remove clock uncertainty and latency, and set propagated clock.
and you should set min library for max / min analysis.
 

spauls

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Dec 17, 2002
Messages
524
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,354
Better go through Prime TIme manual, rather than going thru books
 

kelvin_sg

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
102
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Singapore
Activity points
852
The flow I did was as follows,

...Set library
...Set working environment
...Read in netlist
...Souce constraint file
...Annotate SDF file, either from P&R or design compiler
...Report timing and violations
...Done


HTH
Kelvin
 

AlexWan

Full Member level 5
Joined
Dec 26, 2003
Messages
304
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,692
<Advance Chip Synthesis>2nd

I think it is a good guide.

h**p://
 

ken_ooi

Member level 1
Joined
Nov 13, 2003
Messages
33
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
305
For post-route STA, you might need to read in the SPEF also.
 

allanweee

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Aug 4, 2004
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
98
I use PT for whole chip timing report even in presim or postsim.
 

sxqzj

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 18, 2004
Messages
72
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
496
Does it needs STA prelayout ?maybe it's a optional ,but i think it's not useful !
 

satya

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 14, 2001
Messages
61
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
bangalore
Activity points
530
How Prime Time does the prelayout STA. Can anybody point me too some good appnote for Static Timing Analysis.

Thanks
Satya
 

rakko

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jun 1, 2001
Messages
233
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
mozambic
Activity points
2,070
If you have access to synopsys solvenet web site. search for STA. they have lots of example scripts and app notes on their web site.
 

armmips

Member level 1
Joined
Jan 25, 2009
Messages
38
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,406
It is very useful. Thanks for your sharing.
 

wakki1187

Newbie level 5
Joined
Feb 7, 2010
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,350
do we need to generate .sdf file for a combinational circuit to check the path delay?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top