Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Voltage less than one threshold voltage

Status
Not open for further replies.

Debdut

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
173
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,563
Voltage less by one threshold voltage

I want a circuit that inputs V volts and outputs V-Vth volts, where Vth is the threshold voltage of a pMOS or nMOS.
Is a circuit possible? I tried with pass-transistors, its not happening.
 

BradtheRad

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
14,576
Helped
2,855
Reputation
5,720
Reaction score
2,853
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Activity points
108,857
The simple way to drop a fixed amount of volts, is with a series zener diode.

If Vth is just a few volts, then you can do it by stringing together a sufficient number of diodes or led's.
 

Debdut

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
173
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,563
Diode voltage drop will be different from MOS threshold voltage. The circuit is made up of MOS. So I want is just one Vth drop.
 

Dominik Przyborowski

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
1,145
Helped
497
Reputation
998
Reaction score
482
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Norway
Activity points
8,590
In IC it is easy - simple class A source follower with mosfet working with inversion coefficient=1. Of course it is only a DC drop, signal amplitude is still not changing (almost)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Debdut

    Debdut

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
50,235
Helped
14,526
Reputation
29,324
Reaction score
13,510
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
288,428
I don't recognize a clear question. What do you mean with "its not happening"? Very clearly, a diode connected MOSFET can be used to generate a Vth voltage offset, but of course with non-zero drain current. You could have easily avoided to make others guessing by showing a reference circuit.
 

Debdut

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 29, 2013
Messages
173
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,563
In IC it is easy - simple class A source follower with mosfet working with inversion coefficient=1. Of course it is only a DC drop, signal amplitude is still not changing (almost)

Thanks.
I understand, a source follower will have an output voltage very close to Vin-Vth if its tail current is close to zero. Am I right?
Can you explain what exactly is inversion coefficient in mosfet?
 

Dominik Przyborowski

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
1,145
Helped
497
Reputation
998
Reaction score
482
Trophy points
1,363
Location
Norway
Activity points
8,590
Source follower shifting DC voltage by it gate-to-source voltage, which could be choose equal to threshold voltage by biasing mosfet in center of moderate inversion - its drain current is equal to technology current, which is nonzero of course. The inversion coefficient is a ratio between actual drain current and technology (sometimes called specific) current.

More info You can find in articles describing EKV or ACM mosfet model.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top