Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using CVS when designing HDL code

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bartart

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 20, 2002
Messages
124
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Europt
Activity points
1,107
Hi!

How many of you are using CVS when design a HDL code?


thanks, bart
 

H

HCM_bucat

Guest
+svn +hdl designer

CVS only use for group project. if you write the HDL code by yourself, there is no need
 

maestor

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
163
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
España
Activity points
1,888
hdl designer tortoisesvn

Hi,

We use CVS as our Document Control Management (DCM) tool...

In my previous company we used Cle@rc@se and before that Sources@fe.

Cle@rc@se is just great although quite expensive, it also required some IT effort and tutorials every now and then (bit company we are talking about here). Sources@fe is straight forward, not as powerful as Cle@rc@se but all right, licensing costs where all right.

And CVS is good for small companies but miles away from Clearcase and even from Sourcesafe. It's free, doesn't require a lot of IT support and again...is free. We use the Windows version of it.

It has plenty of 'bugs' or confusing ways of doing things but what else can u ask for a freebie? :?

-maestor
 

jimjim2k

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
May 17, 2001
Messages
996
Helped
23
Reputation
46
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
7,185
Re: CVS and HDL code

HCM_bucat said:
CVS only use for group project. if you write the HDL code by yourself, there is no need


Hi

I am not agree with you.

CVS could help any one or someone to prepare and save the flow of minor and major modifications in his/her documentation/programs/codings



tnx
 

maestor

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
163
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
España
Activity points
1,888
Re: CVS and HDL code

I agree with jimjim2k.

CVS as any DCM tool can help you a lot even you are a single individual working in an HDL design.

Even more, if a team of, let's say 4 people, are working in the same ASIC or FPGA design then is when CVS lacks some things. In those cases I think Cle@rc@se is more powerful.

it's just my opinion.

-maestor
 

hawk_chenbo

Member level 2
Joined
Sep 28, 2004
Messages
43
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
254
Re: CVS and HDL code

I use this software, but it is not so robust
 

maizic

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Aug 17, 2004
Messages
28
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
172
Re: CVS and HDL code

hawk_chenbo said:
I use this software, but it is not so robust

I also use this software with personal project, I think it is convenient to manage my own files. Usually it can meet most of require.
 

vomit

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jun 14, 2002
Messages
148
Helped
14
Reputation
28
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,527
Re: CVS and HDL code

We use CVS and it works great. Especially if you use one of the graphic frontends like WinCVS or TortoiseCVS. Then you only need a couple of CVS experts to solve problems and all other designers can just use the GUI.

Also check out the next generation version control: Subversion. It has fixed many shortcomings of CVS and GUIs are also available.
 

konrad

Junior Member level 1
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
15
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
46
Re: CVS and HDL code

I would say CVS is perfect for HDL designs no matter, if you are alone or working on a multi-site project.

I also use it for, having both Linux and Windows source trees in sync

/Konrad
 

AlexWan

Full Member level 5
Joined
Dec 26, 2003
Messages
304
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,692
CVS and HDL code

We use CVS for Version Control.
It is easy during manipulation.
And this is cheaper than ClearCase.
 

don_quixote

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Apr 3, 2004
Messages
21
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
276
Re: CVS and HDL code

Well, concerns to the size of source code of ASIC project, CVS is actually good. But remember you NEED a CVS guru in your team, otherwise it would be a mess. SUBVERSION is a promising replacement for CVS although I haven't tried it.
 

wkong_zhu

Full Member level 3
Joined
Nov 13, 2004
Messages
174
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
1,293
CVS and HDL code

We use CVS as our Revision Control system
It work well.
I like it.

Arch is a new star of Revision Control system,
I'm going to study it.
 

eziggurat

Full Member level 6
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
324
Helped
30
Reputation
62
Reaction score
19
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,930
Re: CVS and HDL code

In my previous company, they employ ALLChange to all process i.e. documentation, circuit diagrams, software code, firmware code etc... They were at CMMI Level 2 and hopefully level 3 next year. Before I left, they started to use HDL Designer where RCS was included. This was in conjunction with the ALLChange process. I thought the process was quite laborious but it actually kept a track of all changes carried out to documents, code etc.. and it was very well controlled with comparison to my current company i.e. several thousand lines of code with no documentation and diagrams.. a bit of a headache looking through the code.
 

rprince006

Member level 4
Joined
Jul 16, 2004
Messages
79
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
841
CVS and HDL code

I have ever used CVS for a while. But in many
international company, clearcase seems more popular and stable.
 

soccer

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jul 30, 2004
Messages
172
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,186
CVS and HDL code

CVS is a system for revision control, and if you are a develop team, suggest to use it.
 

diablo1222

Newbie level 6
Joined
Nov 30, 2004
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
122
CVS and HDL code

We use the CVS for version control. It is a pool to store the file. But we use other solution to manage the project.
 

bittware

Full Member level 4
Joined
Apr 3, 2004
Messages
208
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
1,986
Re: CVS and HDL code

WinCVS is easy to use, but it's not very stable. Hope for further improvement in the future.
 

Sparc

Member level 5
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
90
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
out of reach..
Activity points
2,295
Re: CVS and HDL code

CVS & other version control S/W are very good if you want to return back after upgrading a number of times..so it can be used at personal as well as organization level.
 

rprince006

Member level 4
Joined
Jul 16, 2004
Messages
79
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
841
Re: CVS and HDL code

I have ever used CVS and Clearcase.

Basically, these version control systems are developed originally for multi-site software development. But now, it seems quite popular for even local site
projects.

I don't think it is a must for small development groups. However, it may be
a good choice if you need not pay for it.

Clearcase is much better and stable.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top