Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Ultra Wideband Bias-TEE Equivalent circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

memarian

Full Member level 5
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
257
Helped
57
Reputation
114
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,011
bias tee design

Dear,

I want to use a wide band ~1W MMIC Amplifier,that i must using it's output RF power pin

for DC Supply. Usually i use a Bias-TEE for this purpose but a Wide band Bias-Tee

has about 1~1.5dB insertion Loss.I need to find another solution to avoid that Loss.
(Maximum 0.5dB Loss is acceptable).

My FREQ. Range is 6~14 GHz(this MMIC is usable up to 20GHz @ 27dBm).

Does anyone have any solution?

this MMIC have a Output Return Loss < -10dB (VSWR~2) in it's bandwidth.

Thanks.
 

fwbsys

Newbie level 3
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
4
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,310
bias tee circuit

Hi,

as i designed a circuit with an era amplifier i've used a capacitor and inductor in the dc supply path to surpress the the HF-parts ... the loss was between 0,5 and 1dB if i remeber right ... i used a 500µm rogers substrate with 1200µm hf-coplanar lines an a 200µm dc-supply line 800MHz - 5GHz
mayba you can try to vary the dimensions of your dc-supply or hf line?

cu
 

Abhishekabs

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jan 12, 2007
Messages
758
Helped
115
Reputation
230
Reaction score
45
Trophy points
1,308
Location
India
Activity points
5,539
wideband bias tee design

I want to design a bias tee for measurement of S parameters using test fixture.
How should I design broad band bias tee?
 

wjnbry

Member level 2
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Messages
48
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
460
tee bias measurement

Abhishekabs said:
I want to design a bias tee for measurement of S parameters using test fixture.
How should I design broad band bias tee?
i've the same idea.give me some information if you get it.
 

shogun

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
36
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Forests of Japan
Activity points
309
20ghz bias tee

If the circuit if operating above 1Ghz and you have the board space you will need to use a radial stub. It will act like an open circuit at your frequency of interest.

Shogun
 

laipi

Newbie level 3
Joined
May 27, 2004
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
25
bias tee equivalent circuit

Without detail information your frequency area, it is hard to give any design tip.
As you having said, you are going to use it to measure S-parameter, so it is small RF signal you are dealing with, then how much of the biaing current through the biasingh path? THis will determine your choice for the RFC.
 

james cook

Member level 4
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
72
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
19
Trophy points
1,288
Location
china
Activity points
1,626
broadband bias tee microstrip

hope following pappers help
 

mirabella2

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 22, 2007
Messages
13
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
Solar system, Saturn
Activity points
1,339
using conical inductors

memarian said:
Dear,

I want to use a wide band ~1W MMIC Amplifier,that i must using it's output RF power pin

for DC Supply. Usually i use a Bias-TEE for this purpose but a Wide band Bias-Tee

has about 1~1.5dB insertion Loss.I need to find another solution to avoid that Loss.
(Maximum 0.5dB Loss is acceptable).

My FREQ. Range is 6~14 GHz(this MMIC is usable up to 20GHz @ 27dBm).

Does anyone have any solution?

this MMIC have a Output Return Loss < -10dB (VSWR~2) in it's bandwidth.

Thanks.
ADCH-80 or ADCH-81 to 10Ghz:D

http://www.minicircuits.com/pages/s-params/ADCH-80_VIEW.pdf
 

si14

Full Member level 3
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
174
Helped
16
Reputation
32
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Location
North America
Activity points
2,195
s-parameters fixture hf frequency

You mean for designing broad band dc-bias network, at high frequencies, there's no need to design radial stubs?!! and we can use only a capacitor and inductor to isolate the RF signals?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top