Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] How to connect DC supply to Bias Tee

Status
Not open for further replies.

critac

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am a beginner at RF and electronics, but I have a Mini-Circuits ZFBT-4R2G-FT+ 10-4200MHz Bias Tee. It has a sigle DC Feedthrough pin to connect the DC supply. I cannot figure out how to attach my DC supply as it should have atleast 2 connectors to connect my live and neutral to it. The attached image contains my bias tee. So as the title states, how do I connect my power supply to it?

IMG_20220823_135553.jpg

The feedthough pin has this text on the bottom:

IMG_20220823_140858.jpg

Solution
The SMA connector (RF & DC) goes to your transistor, to bias the gate/base OR the drain/collector.
The (-) of your power supply goes to the GND and the (+) goes to the DC.
If you want to bias simultaneus the gate/base AND drain/collector, you need another Bias-Tee.
Some transistors (GaAs FET or GaN) needs negative bias voltage on their gates.
The SMA connector (RF & DC) goes to your transistor, to bias the gate/base OR the drain/collector.
The (-) of your power supply goes to the GND and the (+) goes to the DC.
If you want to bias simultaneus the gate/base AND drain/collector, you need another Bias-Tee.
Some transistors (GaAs FET or GaN) needs negative bias voltage on their gates.

critac