Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

technology File conversion

Status
Not open for further replies.

cin

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Dec 15, 2001
Messages
31
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Cupertino
Activity points
222
cadence techfile

:wink:
 

nmtr

Member level 2
Joined
May 16, 2001
Messages
46
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Location
a Chinese university
Activity points
580
synopsys technology file cadence tf

if the vendor can provide this format of tf or the software can translate it directely, you are the lucky birds.otherwise you have to do it by yourself.8
 

rfsystem

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
914
Helped
148
Reputation
292
Reaction score
38
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Germany
Activity points
9,550
technology file tf synopsys

Most *.tf definitions from cadence are not applicable to other tools. If you are interessted in transfer the layer definition of cadence into e.g. mychip you have to use a script. Some specific differences are that the stipple pattern is 16x16 in cds and 8x8 in mychip. The grafic part is easy. More problematic is the DRC and not solveable the LVS. I have written in the past new techfiles by hand, first understanding the layer processing and then translating into the semantics of the target tool. A one-one translation is only possible if the target tool vendor exact implement the source sematics. That was proposed for Polaris, now belonging to Synopsis. I think MyCad also announce to be Dracula compatible. But be caution.
 

ommomm2001

Newbie level 3
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
28
synopsys .tf

sorry for my english.
cin, you should can migrate de tf files automaticaly, if there is NOT parametrizable cell, otherwise, you must reconfigure it by hand.

Please correct my written english, i'll try to inprove it.
thx
 

ommomm2001

Newbie level 3
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
28
sorry for my english.
cin, you can migrate the tf files automaticaly, if there is NOT parametrizable cell, otherwise, you must reconfigure it by hand.

Please correct my written english, i'll try to inprove it.
thx
 

transistor

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
92
My*c*a*d indeed claims their tools are Dracula compatible in their document.
But I experienced the incompatiable drc/lvs/lpe problems on it several months
ago. What I can do is to use another similar command. This is dagerous. Since
I don't specialize in Dracula command and hard to find the bug of M*y*c*h*i*p
station. It's possible I miss something, so I just learn it by doing. Fortunely,
I don't use it on the daily work.Besides,I transfer tf of cadence to My*c*h*i*p
format by hand.This is indeed tiresome work.And another problem is that the
stipple pattern of the two tools are different. I select the similar style to
make the layout look similar and professional.:smile:

I trasfer the tf file format just because I need an ASIC design tool running on PC.
 

hamlock

Newbie level 1
Joined
Feb 21, 2002
Messages
0
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,280
Activity points
30
What is the standard flow in the plateform
of PC envirement?

Do I need which tool to implement from
design to a real ic?
 

ommomm2001

Newbie level 3
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
28
becouse I do not know what cadence software engineers do. So, form cadence 99 to 2000 you should migrate de tf files(if they are parametrizable).


Again, Correct my english.
thx
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top