Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Question regarding LEF files

Status
Not open for further replies.

crigri

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi@all

First, I'm new to the topic of IC design.
Currently I'm working with soc encounter to do a digital layout. After some hard starting problems i managed to get a routed design with no errors regarding the connectivity - a great thing to me :)

I did the whole design without using LEF files from the current design (only CORELIB, IOLIB4M & Tech file). Now I'm not sure if i need LEF files (others than the standard ones) and if it is OK to do the design without them. Sorry for my "noobie" questions but thats what I am @ the moment.

I'm looking forward to your helpfull statements!

Kind regards
Cristian G.

If you don't have LEF files then you have no physical models of your cells in Encounter. The LEF file tells Encounter the physical characteristics of your library. I'm afraid you hvae some misleading information if Encounter is telling you it routed successfully...unless it created some bogus physical models for you.

Morning!

I thought there is a way to do a digital design without using a specific LEF file of my current circuit. What is about the encounter tutorial shown here:

http://www.chiptalk.org/modules/wfsection/article.php?articleid=1

They didn't use LEF files of their design. I found other websites stating the same thing as the before mentioned one. I'm quite confused right now :)

I'm thankful for any kind of help.

kind regards

HI christian