Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

post synthesys simulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

nikhilindia85

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 28, 2007
Messages
78
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,712
hi.can anybody tell me how to do gatelevel simulation.i mean i want to verify my netlist generated by synthesis tool.wen i exported my netlist to simulator ,it is showing some components r unresolved.do i need to supply any synth lib to simulator.i am using cadence RTL compiler for synth,NCsim for simulation
 

RBB

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
304
Helped
71
Reputation
142
Reaction score
36
Trophy points
1,308
Location
USA
Activity points
2,559
You will need to supply the standard cell libaries to nc-sim.
 

nikhilindia85

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 28, 2007
Messages
78
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,712
ya.how to suplly the libs to simulator.wat is the procedure
 

rsrinivas

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
415
Helped
50
Reputation
100
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
bengalooru
Activity points
3,704
u have a .v or .vhd library file.
just check in ur installation directory.
compile it with ur .v or .vhd netlist file.
 

pintuinvlsi

Member level 3
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
61
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,631
Just compile your all library files with ncvhdl/ncvlog and then run with netlist. Since in your netlist library files are used for synthesis.
 

nikhilindia85

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 28, 2007
Messages
78
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,712
do u mean to supply which lib files.my synth lib files r not in the .v format.do i need to compile simulator librery file or synth lib file.plz elaborate
 

Thinkie

Full Member level 3
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
177
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,242
Your libraries should have a complete verilog description of each of your gates.
These should be compiled with your simulator.

Also, do not forget the SDF. In many cases a netlist without SDF will not work, especially if you have complex clock generation methods.

So, do not forget to annotate the SDF on your netlist.
 

phoenixfeng

Full Member level 2
Joined
Mar 27, 2004
Messages
147
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
6
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
770
u should provide a type of lib which can be recognized by simulator, the annotate the sdf file
 

pintuinvlsi

Member level 3
Joined
Jul 13, 2007
Messages
61
Helped
19
Reputation
38
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,631
Neslist has some tech library files (depends on fab technology 90 nm 130 nm....) and all memory models so u have to compile all memory models used in the netlist and all tech library ( TSMC or others) before annotating with sdf.
 

nikhilindia85

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 28, 2007
Messages
78
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,712
can u elaborate.synth lib files r not in the .v format.how to get

Added after 2 minutes:

my netlist has a ADDFX1 component.that is my standard cell present in the synth lib,which is typical.lib.how to resolve addfx1 component.where can i get verilog format of the addfx1 cell
 

Thinkie

Full Member level 3
Joined
May 26, 2005
Messages
177
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,242
If your library is complete you should have datasheets for each cell, the db files, the verilog description, scan description for ATPG... the lot... lef/def files....

Ask your vendor to supply these to you... although I am sure they are included in your library delivery
 

nikhilindia85

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 28, 2007
Messages
78
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,712
wat is the command for sdf file generation in RTL compiler
 

hash_delay

Newbie level 2
Joined
Aug 9, 2007
Messages
2
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,303
NC-Verilog Simulation tool for adding library for netlist sims:

You need to add

-y /<directory path of the library here>/unisims +libext+.v

Here unisims would be library name
You can supply this via command line or at the start of the list of files.
 

avimit

Banned
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
413
Helped
91
Reputation
182
Reaction score
23
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Fleet, UK
Activity points
0
1. I would go by what hash_delay has said. It would solve your problem
2. You dont need an sdf file. YOu can do sims without it.
sdf is anyway only relevant when you do sims after layout.
kr,
Avi
http://www.vlsiip.com
 

nikhilindia85

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 28, 2007
Messages
78
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,712
i cant find any lib with verilg extension in my lib files.i am using cadence university license .i think they dont supply full libraries for student programs
 

kpsai26779

Member level 5
Joined
Jun 28, 2007
Messages
80
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Bangalore, India.
Activity points
1,669
Hi nikhil,

even though u are using cadence university license, they will be supplying libraries. by the way how you synthesized your design either generic or mapped
 

drizzle

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 7, 2006
Messages
56
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,667
when u added the sdf in your simulation,the delay of design can be showed

if u just compiled the .v lib in your sim tool,that should be ok,just show you function verification

it will be realized with start simulation menu in modelsim.
 

anantha_09

Member level 4
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
75
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,771
see nikhil it goes this way

open ur cadence synthesis setup file and see the path of your library file you use to synthesize ur design.

copy this path into your NC sim tool and go to the location, it opens into your library files directory , here you look for verilog folder, open it and you can see your lib file, compile it and next proceed normally with ur simulation

reply me for any queries
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top