Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

PCB design in Mils (Inch) or MM's?

Status
Not open for further replies.

p!six

Newbie level 6
Joined
Dec 3, 2002
Messages
14
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
85
Hi All,

I was wondering if you guys/girls :lol: make your boards in milimeters or in inches or maybe a combination of both worlds.
And what are your experiences and maybe do you have tips?

/P!SiX
 

techie

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 5, 2002
Messages
839
Helped
58
Reputation
116
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Pakistan
Activity points
7,799
Most use mils since for conventional DIP IC's thats the way to go. But Ifyou are using the newer 2mm pitch parts, then use mm
 

Pim

Member level 3
Joined
Jan 26, 2002
Messages
57
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,027
Being a nationalist, and as the common measure standard in my country is based on the meter, I of course converted every inch-based value to millimeters and used it in my CAD-tool, which was Cadstar at that time. If I only knew better at that time...

That particular tool (as well as several others, I am sure!), internally converts the values given i millimeters to inch-based values (mils), and since this inevitably gives round-off errors I had a tremendous work in getting everything to look as I wanted.

My advise is that, even if you think and walk i millimeters, to use inch-based values (mils) whenever you are going to do any work in an EDA-CAD program, be it schematics or layouts (especially layouts!).

Also, circuit-board makers more likely than not have their drills in mils, not in millimeters. So even then, when you are sending them the drill-file for the circuit-board, they are rounding off the drill sizes to mils, and which can result in too small clearance sizes for the pads and numerous other unforeseen errors.

Pim
 

toonafishy

Full Member level 6
Joined
Jun 18, 2002
Messages
369
Helped
38
Reputation
76
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Earth
Activity points
3,187
I always use mils. But I'm in North America and the mm never really arrived here. All vendors I deal with for PCB work use mils.
 

FANT

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Feb 27, 2002
Messages
415
Helped
52
Reputation
104
Reaction score
37
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Italy
Activity points
3,646
MILS/MM

Here in my company ( center/south Europe ) we use always mils and this is appreciated ( sometimes forced ) from the PCB constructors.
We tried for some special applications to use mm, but we have always found problems with the companies selling PCB.

BTW I know all the companies in my area use mils.

MANDI
 

schuhsj

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jul 11, 2002
Messages
3
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Location
LATVIA
Activity points
26
The units of measure must be set up so that they are the same as that required for manufacturing the board (photoplotter, drill equip., etc.)
 

RF_Router

Member level 2
Joined
Feb 1, 2002
Messages
47
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
429
Hi,

Most use Mils - which is 1/1000 of an inch.
You will find it very easy once you start working with mils. The reason for that is because most PCB compnents library have there component in mils and also the datasheets are in mils as a more convinient way.
I would suggest you although you have use it to start using mils and not mm - milimeters. The reason for that it is because it will give you good hubits from the beginning. And also it depends I think if you want to be in this buisness for long time or it is a short project never the less if it is for short or for long you may never know when you need it so it is better for you to use mils.

Enjoy,
Tibi
 

Epegic

Member level 5
Joined
Mar 29, 2002
Messages
84
Helped
24
Reputation
46
Reaction score
19
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
597
Hi,
mil is more natural since most components' footprint are defined in mils.
 

pico

Full Member level 6
Joined
Sep 30, 2001
Messages
324
Helped
32
Reputation
64
Reaction score
19
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,887
1000 mils = 1 inch.
25.41 milimeters (mm.) = 1 inch.
39.354584 mils = 1 mm.
draftly 40 mils = 1 mm.
 

drp

Member level 2
Joined
Oct 5, 2002
Messages
50
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
257
I never used mils until started to do pcbs :) but is worth using them, i find them more comfortable to work with, and now i even find it easier. But there is the problem when talking with people that works in mm, have to convert everything in the head, but still is good using mils (unless footprints are changed to mm) :D
 

gometric

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
34
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
177
I have been using mils since I started to layout pcb's. I come from a metric country. I used both systems, now I moved to USA and I switched to metric and I'm helping my mechanical guys to do that. All the stuff is made over seas now and they use metric. If you need to start your own library I will suggest you to do it in metric units. In a couple of years everything will be metric, even in the USA. Look at IPC, evrything is metric in their books. I understand that the change in the USA is going to be really hard.

GOMETRIC
 

Phil woz ere

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 12, 2002
Messages
130
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
968
It should not matter what units you use, the cad systems take into account the conversion and you should be able to work in both or switch from one to the other to input library shapes.
The front end tools that are used by the board fabs will do likewise.

Phil 8)
 

hwswboy

Member level 4
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
75
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
605
All Industry is migrating to mm

See: hxxp://www.pcbstandards.com
 

tobs

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 7, 2002
Messages
21
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
130
The selection of the units is also a kind of selection what accuracy you need.
selecting MM,MILS,UM (micrometer) and the appropriate amount of decimals will give you either a smooth working or all the time a lot of rounding errors which can impact your work a lot.

for instance working in Allegro with MILS and 4 decimals will all the time you do an autovoid of shapes give you nice results, Allegro is converting every X/Y location into an internal database value (independent of MIL,MM,UM) wich cause very often round off errors...

Tobias
 

concat

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 5, 2001
Messages
54
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
753
Dear friends

I have seen do project for IBM, Applied Material, American Predator, HP,... all of company use mils in their design, but in Europe use mm, Japan use Micron and mm. everything depend on your customer, but when U use the Unit, U need take care the the tolerance with Unit U use.

Best Regards
Concat
 

hock

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
May 28, 2001
Messages
525
Helped
47
Reputation
94
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
3,567
my national standard saya mm but all the pcb manufactures insist on mils
hock
 

gdxk

Newbie level 4
Joined
Mar 10, 2003
Messages
7
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
95
Depend on the footprint pitch.If the picth use mm I will use mm or I use mil.
 

cyberrat

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Jun 19, 2001
Messages
897
Helped
86
Reputation
172
Reaction score
41
Trophy points
1,308
Location
In the sewers of the U.K.
Activity points
5,809
I use MM for placement of critical items, such as board outline, mounting holes etc so as not to get wrong values as the mechanical drawings are all in mm now.

I also use MM when creating a footprint (unless the spec is only in thou).

Then I use thou when placing and routing.

As for the industry moving over to MM, oh yeah, like I'll believe that when it actually happens. Just because industry stds want us to does not mean that we will.

LONG LIVE THE INCH!!! :D
 

dzkcool

Member level 1
Joined
Sep 21, 2002
Messages
33
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
114
I use mil,i think use which unit is no impadent!
 

cozkan

Junior Member level 2
Joined
May 4, 2002
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
150
mils is so standart because of all components sizes and pins are related mils.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top