Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

MPLAB C30 installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom2

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
318
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,457
Is anyone who has instructions about how to install MPLAB C30 comiler ????

If yes pleas upload it.
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
You simply download it from here **broken link removed** and unzip the download. Click setup and follow the instructions.

Have you tried to install it and it has failed or have you installed it but are unable to compile with it?

Keith
 

Tom2

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
318
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,457
I install MPLAB C30 but when i try to create a new project (at step two) when i choose Microchip C30 tool suite and i put a name i get the massage that "one of the tool path do not point to an existing file .... i marked with X" . i get a mark X at LIB 30 Archiver(pic30-ar.exe ).

How to fix this problem??????
 

Tom2

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
318
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,457
The MPLAB C30 compiler is compatible with dsPIC33 series?
 

Tom2

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
318
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,457
If is compatible why i get the message:

Executing: "C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB C30\bin\pic30-gcc.exe" -mcpu=33FJ06GS101 -x c -c "C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\try.c" -o"try.o" -D__DEBUG -g -Wallpic30-coff-cc1.exe: error: Invalid -mcpu option. CPU 33FJ06GS101 not recognized.Halting build on first failure as requested.----------------------------------------------------------------------Debug build of project `C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB C30\examples\1.mcp' failed.Preprocessor symbol `__DEBUG' is defined.Mon May 14 17:11:51 2012----------------------------------------------------------------------BUILD FAILED


?????

(i define the device to the configure menu )
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
I assume it is connected with the problem you have with the C30 generally. The 16 bit C compiler covers the dsPIC and PIC24 all in one installation. You can buy a licence for one which doesn't cover the other but it would still work - the optimization would just be reduced. Could you post the project you are trying to build here?

Keith.
 

Tom2

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
318
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,457
I fix the first problem with the C30. It is working for dsPIC30.. micro controller . The code that i use is a simple code of few lines (as you can see bellow) just to check is the compiler is working and then i will start my project.

#include "p33FJ128MC804.h"




//#include "p30F5013.h"

//#include <libpic30.h>
#include <stdio.h> /* Required for printf */

int main (int argc, char * argv[])
{
printf ("Hello, world!");

return 0;
}




According your reply if i buy the license for both dspic30/33 i will need to re -install it or just to put the license file in place and connect it with MPLAB??????
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
According your reply if i buy the license for both dspic30/33 i will need to re -install it or just to put the license file in place and connect it with MPLAB??????

You can simply install the licence. See here: **broken link removed**

In your code, does the #include match the device you have selected in MPLAB (I assume you used the "new project wizard")?

Keith.

---------- Post added at 18:59 ---------- Previous post was at 18:58 ----------

This may also be of interest:

https://www.microchip.com/forums/m353032.aspx

Keith.
 

Tom2

Full Member level 5
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
318
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,457
Finally i fix the problem. Now i would like to ask if anyone has any tutorial about programming MPLAB C30. (I have experience with CCS compiler but i have not any experience with C30 compiler).
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
I found the book "Programming 16 bit Microcontrollers in C" useful. ISBN10 - 0750682922 ISBN13 - 9780750682923

Keith.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tom2

    Tom2

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top