Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Is the Future going towards FPGA's ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pavanks

Full Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello ASIC's frnds,

I am a ASIC designer and very much concerned on a article on EE times abt the companies moving towards FPGA's.
Plese give ur feedback on this.
Will ASIC remain and continue in future.

Thank u for all ur inputs in advance.

off cource.. but i can say the future goes towards FPGA also/too..
mainly FPGAs are best for any custom design.. most importantly for Defence and security sectors..
being a digital engineer, i am telling you to be proud to be an ASIC designer.
but dont think i gave up. we are also part of future (say commercial).. ;)

now FPGA becomes more powerful! but I think in some field FPGA can't substitute for ASIC!

How much time do u guys think there is for ASIC before FPGA will take over :(:(:(

FPGA can be good in testing an application but when it comes to cost effectiveness FPGA fails....

FPGA can't give performance comparable to ASIC. FPGA can't take over ASICs. FPGA can be used for prototype only not for bulk production. ASICs much cheaper than FPGA when produced in the bulk.
https://www.edaboard.com/threads/209147/#3
https://www.edaboard.com/threads/209794/#5
https://www.edaboard.com/threads/215847/

Do u see any changes as i feel there are now many FPGA companies than ASIC companies. Now as u have 28nm FPGA, does this impact the ASIC as the technology goes further down?

There are hundreds of ASIC compnies in INDIA only but there are few companies that make FPGAs like Xilinx and altera.