Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

[SOLVED] ir2110 drive boost converter short circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

mshh

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
345
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
usa
Activity points
3,847
i used ir2110 to drive boost converter (low side switching) but when i connect the source input it make short circuit and the dc source turned off. i don' know the reason i simulate it on Proteus and it works fine.
note; i didn't find ir2110 in proteus so i used ir2112( they are the same )
 

Attachments


KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
18,761
Helped
4,184
Reputation
8,370
Reaction score
4,120
Trophy points
113
Activity points
123,389
Hi,

The IC has undervoltage lockout on both channels.
So don't be surprised when it shuts down when you don't power high side driver.

And you violate V_IH level.

Klaus
 

mshh

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
345
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
usa
Activity points
3,847
i didn't get you where is the problem? i used the low side so Hin is connected gnd
 
Last edited:

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,872
Helped
14,125
Reputation
28,507
Reaction score
12,808
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
277,837
Yes, low- and high side driver are working independently. High side UVLO doesn't affect low side.

The problem report isn't very clear. Are you talking about shorted power transistor, defective IR2110?
 

mshh

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
345
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
usa
Activity points
3,847
short circuit happened on the input terminal of the dc converter, when i removed the input terminal and measured voltage using voltmeter i found 6.5 v on input?!!
 

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
18,761
Helped
4,184
Reputation
8,370
Reaction score
4,120
Trophy points
113
Activity points
123,389
Hi,

Indeed I can't find a clear information whether both UVLO work independently or not.
From the drawing I see no connection. So maybe FvM is right.

Still you violate V_IH.
But this does not explain short circuit.
I assume the schematic does not match the test circuit.

Klaus
 

Akanimo

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
707
Helped
127
Reputation
254
Reaction score
126
Trophy points
43
Activity points
4,770
It seems like the inductor is saturating. If the inductor is saturating, it would draw a lot of current from the supply. If the supply has a current limit setting and protection, then it would turn off. I doubt Proteus does simulate core saturation. Some simulators like LTspice does.

Try it with low PWM duty cycle to see if it would still shut down.
--- Updated ---

What's the input voltage of your converter?
 
Last edited:

mshh

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
345
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
usa
Activity points
3,847
The input voltage is 12v from pc power supply. But why would the inductor saturate? ,there is no load yet. And the transistor is good
 
Last edited:

KlausST

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 17, 2014
Messages
18,761
Helped
4,184
Reputation
8,370
Reaction score
4,120
Trophy points
113
Activity points
123,389
Hi

I think Akanimo is correct.
It's not a true short circuit, but just high current.

See the current flow path when the Mosfet is ON. --> Load is not involved
And after some 10us ... or some 100us the current will become high, too high. The inductor will saturate, thus the current will rise even faster.

Klaus
 

mshh

Full Member level 6
Joined
May 30, 2010
Messages
345
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
usa
Activity points
3,847
yes that's right, it's the normal operation of boost converter to draw current even without load being connected. the current was high because it wasn't controlled.
thanks
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top