Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

help with timer circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

mohsen 2012

Member level 4
Joined
Jul 3, 2012
Messages
69
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,794
Hello guys , i build this timer circuit :

http://www.electronics-lab.com/projects/oscillators_timers/008/002_Schematic_th.png



the problem is when i set the jumper at 120 second the relay switch turned ON during a few seconds only !!
i replace the variable resistor with a 3M9 fixed resistor but the circuit work for a 5 seconds !!!
the same problem with all jumpers when i set it to 2 hours it work for a 1 minute!!
Please help me and thanks
 

Vbase

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
367
Helped
74
Reputation
148
Reaction score
72
Trophy points
28
Activity points
1,997
The pic isn't very clear but it looks like your C1 is 22nF instead of 220nF. This will make your delay 10 times shorter.
Is the date on the cmos is 1980 ? they must be very valuable now.
 
Last edited:

mohsen 2012

Member level 4
Joined
Jul 3, 2012
Messages
69
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,794
No , the capacitor value is 220nf the code marked on the capacitor is .22m63
 

Audioguru

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
9,011
Helped
2,105
Reputation
4,204
Reaction score
1,919
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Toronto area of Canada
Activity points
56,612
There is no such thing as .22m63. Microfarads is always the micro symbol not the letter m.
Your oscillator runs too fast because the capacitor value is too low.
Your camera is hopeless but I think the capacitor shows 22n63 which is 22nF, 63V. Usually the tolerance (J is 5%, K is 10% and M is 20%) is shown like in this photo of a 22nF 10% 63V capacitor:
 

Attachments


Vbase

Full Member level 6
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
367
Helped
74
Reputation
148
Reaction score
72
Trophy points
28
Activity points
1,997
I guess you don't have another 0.22uF cap. What you can do is to de-solder C3 0.1uF and solder it in parallel to C1 and test if you get better timing.
I recommend to do it before audioguru gets really angry.
 

mohsen 2012

Member level 4
Joined
Jul 3, 2012
Messages
69
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,794
look at the value shown in multimeter 11157005_786962598055004_1519372255_n.jpg
this is the same capacitor used in the circuit !!
 

Allen6502

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
119
Helped
32
Reputation
64
Reaction score
30
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Borneo Island
Activity points
2,032
The circuit seems OK and it works on the proteus sim. To trouble shoot, I would use a watch to compare the basic clock pulse time from the 4001 osc. is correct.

For easy calculation, I set it to 500mS so what came out from Q3 is 8 second pulse. You have to make sure that this timing is correct before moving on to the other 4020 clock divider's pulses.
 

Attachments


Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top