Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

GAIN booster input problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

ljy4468

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
232
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
South Korea
Activity points
3,023
boost input

Hi all~
I've a question about gain booster.
I'm using folded cascode amp with gain booster.
and gain booster circuit is single-ended folded cascode.
So need four single-ended folded cascode amp

Now, I've a question.
one of single ended amp's input is top mos drain.
Then, the other input????
Can I made a voltage using bias circuit????
If then, How can I determine voltage??


please help me
Thanks in advance.

I wnat to know nbias1 & pbias3.....
How can I determine
 

jlee

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 8, 2006
Messages
55
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,896
nbias1 & pbias3 are chosen to make sure all transistors are operating in saturation mode.

For example, pbias has to be < Vdd - (2*|Vdsat| + |Vt|)
\]
 

ljy4468

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
232
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
South Korea
Activity points
3,023
Then, booster's inp and inn can have different DC bias??
or same dc voltage
 

opamp741

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jun 17, 2004
Messages
135
Helped
21
Reputation
42
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
1,134
just assume ur boost amp is completely ideal and having infinite gain and bw.
now, roughly determine how much voltage u want at the souce of ur cascode transistor.
for example: at pbias1=vs@pcasode=vdd-von@ptop~3-200mV~2.8V
put the same voltage (2.8V for pbias1) at the input to boost amp.. now due to to feedback
action (and high gain of boost amp: if u r able to bias ur boost amp properly) u will see
the voltage at casode node very close to wht u hav applied at the boost input.

<click helped me if i really helped u :)>
 

nagula suresh

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Jan 23, 2005
Messages
29
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
270
before designing a booster circuit,for the main circuit design we have to generate the pbias and nbias by using the wideswing bias circuits.,
when we are designing the booster circuit,without changing the bias conditions we shud design the circuit.,
care must be taken so that booster gbw shud be greater than main amplifier 3db frequency.
 

ljy4468

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jul 20, 2005
Messages
232
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Location
South Korea
Activity points
3,023
put the same voltage (2.8V for pbias1) at the input to boost amp.. now due to to feedback
action (and high gain of boost amp: if u r able to bias ur boost amp properly) u will see
the voltage at casode node very close to wht u hav applied at the boost input.




Oh...I didn't know that!
Thanks!!
 

opamp741

Full Member level 2
Joined
Jun 17, 2004
Messages
135
Helped
21
Reputation
42
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
1,134
ljy4468 said:
put the same voltage (2.8V for pbias1) at the input to boost amp.. now due to to feedback
action (and high gain of boost amp: if u r able to bias ur boost amp properly) u will see
the voltage at casode node very close to wht u hav applied at the boost input.




Oh...I didn't know that!
Thanks!!

i hope u r not kidding me bcaz this is the first lesson of any analog course..
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top