Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

CMOS Amplifier (Class A)

Status
Not open for further replies.

justsunny

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Dear All,

I am new to the CMOS design. Any help would be highly appreciated.

I am designing the class A CMOS amplifier in 180nm (Cadence). I have attached the picture. I need your help to start the design.

(1). What are the design considerations ?
(2). How do I select/design VGG2 ?
(3). How do u select/design Vss ?
(4). What smulations do I need to do in Cadence ?

Hi
1/To figure out VGS2 you need to know your spec like power dissipation and from this you will know the current ===> VGS2 with W/L to be chosen
2/ You should know gain of this amp from spec ===> I (current) > bias

1/ ok,if power dissipation is 10 mW and Vdd = 1.8 V

P = VI
I = P / V = 10(mw) / 1.8 (v)

and, I = 1/2 * M * (W/L) * ( Vgs2 - Vt )2 , Vt=.7V

Is this the right process to get Vgs2 ?

2/ If the gain is 5dB then how do I calculate oter parameters ?

I am new in Analog IC design.

Thanks.