Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Anyone access to the latest version of StarSimXT from Avant!

Status
Not open for further replies.

edaguy69

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
119
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
silicon land
Activity points
949
Does it support mix-level simulation yet. how does it compare with Hsim?
Thanks
 

kwkam

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
276
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Somewhere on earth
Activity points
1,878
For my experience, starsim only support transistor level simulation. It can't do mixed spice and verilog simulation. However, you can translate the verilog gate level netlist to transisor level by some tools.
 

edaguy69

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Dec 11, 2002
Messages
119
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
silicon land
Activity points
949
kwkam said:
For my experience, starsim only support transistor level simulation. It can't do mixed spice and verilog simulation. However, you can translate the verilog gate level netlist to transisor level by some tools.
That's an old story. Two years ago, they announced that they will support mix-level simulation with some common verilog. That's why I ask. Most simulation tools now have that feature: Hsim. Nanosim, MachTA...
 

kwkam

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
276
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
13
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Somewhere on earth
Activity points
1,878
I don't know the current version of starsim. In the case of HSIM 2.0, it required you to translate the verilog netlist to spice before doing simulation. May be other tools do it automaticly. I believe for accurate simulation, verilog netlist must be translate to the spice model.
 

cyrabbit

Member level 2
Joined
Apr 18, 2003
Messages
52
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
297
Re: Anyone access to the latest version of StarSimXT from Av

Synopsys will not develop this tools.
 

johnnyh

Member level 1
Joined
May 9, 2002
Messages
34
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
182
Synopsys StarsimXT 2003.03 for SUN 5.7 & Linux Rh 7.1
 

CatKing

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jun 5, 2001
Messages
157
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,129
edaguy69 said:
That's an old story. Two years ago, they announced that they will support mix-level simulation with some common verilog. That's why I ask. Most simulation tools now have that feature: Hsim. Nanosim, MachTA...
NanoSim and MachTA do support mixed level simluation.
NanoSim can link to VCS by verilog PLI, MachTA can link to Advanced MS with ModelSim for mixed spice/HDL sim, too.
 

rfsystem

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
914
Helped
148
Reputation
292
Reaction score
38
Trophy points
1,308
Location
Germany
Activity points
9,550
Is Smash the only single kernel "Mixed" with a nonnative digital description?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top