Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Analog IC Layout design in Cadence Virtuoso

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karan Singh

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello All
I am new to using Cadence Virtuoso tool for the purpose of analog design. I have to build a gilbert cell multiplier using the NCSU FreePDK 45nm technology. I have Cadence Virtuoso suite with Mentor Graphics Calibre for DRC/LVS.

For people who have used the NCSU Analog Lib for analog design, could you tell me how I can model components such as vccs, cap etc for simulation in schematic ? Also how I can build physical layouts of the components ?

I have read tutorials on analog inverter design but they don't demonstrate how they make layouts.

Please help.

analogLib has all that stuff. One of the standard libraries that
comes with the setup.

check analogLib library..
Also how I can build physical layouts of the components ?
open the layout window in cadence LAUNCH-> LAYOUT XL ..place all the required components and bulid the circuit..
Go through this tutorial before you start doing layout :wink:

Attachments

• TutorialB.pdf
    489.5 KB · Views: 472

Hello Kannan
Thank you for your response.
I know the digital design bit pretty well. :) I was wondering how different it is in Analog.

Would you be having a schematic+layout tutorial on a analog circuit like OPAMP/ Summing Amplifier ?

- - - Updated - - -

analogLib has all that stuff. One of the standard libraries that
comes with the setup.

Hello dick_freebird.
Thank you for your response.