Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Amplifier using LM324n

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mafura

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi everyone. I have just started a project where I have to build an amplifier for a condenser microphone. I have to use an operational amplifier LM324n. I need to read in a signal from the microphone, amplify it and then send it to a daq card. I am stuck in the amplification stage. Can anyone help me with a basic circuit that I can start with. I have never worked with audio signals before. Where do I start?
Thank you

The data sheet for the LM324 would be a good place. Usually they have lots of application notes, including their use as audio amplifiers which you can work from. The formulas for calculating the feedback resistors are also in the data sheet.

Brian

Reactions: Mafura

Mafura

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
Hi Brian, I have checked out some of the data sheets. What I need to know is why do I need a capacitor after the microphone when I am only monitoring signals. Because for this project I need to monitor exactly what is going on in a different system and I want that signal to be displayed on a computer. I am fairly confused about the issue of the capacitor, I mean what role does it play and what significance will it have on my system results?
Thank you