Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Making a simple Thermocouple Amplifier using LM 358P

cloudsky

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello experts,
I'm a student and I'm trying to study how an op-amp works.
I want to make an amplifier circuit using a thermocouple (TC) as the input (K-type, range about 0 - 50 mV). The output I expect is about several V. In the case of this LM358P that I'm using, I expect the output to be from 0 - 2 V (for a connection with Arduino to calculate the temperature later).
Here is the circuit diagram I found on the internet. I made the circuit as shown below.
1703352778520.png

1703352815135.png

1703352967953.png

I think the circuit works correctly because what I received in the output is ~ 6V and reducing (due to the feedback of the R2=100k to the 2- pin) when I used a 12V supplier to the Vcc+.
Here is the simulation that I also tried to understand the circuit.
The question is, how can I change or improve anything to receive the output (~ 0 ->1V) that also changes with the input (from TC ~0 - 50 mV)?

Thank you so much for your time and support.
If it's possible, I would like to send you a cup of coffee as my gratitude.
--- Updated ---

the simulation I forgot
1703354426289.jpeg

Last edited:
You know that thermocouple voltage is DC, why are you using AC voltage in simulation?
--- Updated ---

1 V output for 50 mV input is gain of 20, no inverting amplifier gain is 1 + R4/R1, R4 has to be reduced respectively.

Do you actually use full K temperature range of 1250 °C?