Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Altium and old Protel 99SE similarities

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eugen_E

Full Member level 6
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
382
Helped
44
Reputation
86
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Romania
Activity points
2,838
protel 99se

Hello,

At job I have access to Protel 99SE, but never used it before, I used OrCAD in the past.
I want to ask if learning the "old" Protel 99SE will be somehow helpful for using Altium at a basic level sometime in the future, or Altium is totally different? Learning Protel is usefull now, or Altium is much more advanced and special training is required?

Thanks
 

pakitos

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
457
Helped
77
Reputation
154
Reaction score
35
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
3,639

    Eugen_E

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

Eugen_E

Full Member level 6
Joined
Nov 29, 2004
Messages
382
Helped
44
Reputation
86
Reaction score
11
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Romania
Activity points
2,838
protel 99 and altium

Thanks

I will study briefly Protel. So far I only have Protel at work.
I was interested about similarity because these days everyone talks about Altium, and I may need to use it in the future.
 

chakravarthy80pcb

Member level 3
Joined
Jul 8, 2009
Messages
60
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
chennai
Activity points
1,603
learn altium

Hi Eugen,
My suggestion is, if you are learning, better you learn Altium.It be helpful in future and also the tool has so many updated futures.

All the best..!!
 

Anonymous_Ricky

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
517
Helped
88
Reputation
178
Reaction score
58
Trophy points
1,308
Location
India
Activity points
3,974
protel 99 se

Hi Eugen,

I would say that you learn Protel as it is only going to be a value addition in your profile.
As far as Altium is concerned it is merger of Protel and PCAD so learning protel will only make it easier for you to work on Altium in future.

Regards,
Ricky
 

    Eugen_E

    points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

m_kavith

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 14, 2010
Messages
58
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
chennai
Activity points
1,638
fine. is there any study centre for protel & Altium? where to download these tools to learn deeply.
 

chakravarthy80pcb

Member level 3
Joined
Jul 8, 2009
Messages
60
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
chennai
Activity points
1,603
This forum is the best study center.you ask your quieries clearly and get clarify by many professional ECAD designers :-|
 

m_kavith

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 14, 2010
Messages
58
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
chennai
Activity points
1,638
ok. nw i m working with orcad 9.1. i know orcad16.1. it is easy to learn protel & altium?
 

chakravarthy80pcb

Member level 3
Joined
Jul 8, 2009
Messages
60
Helped
8
Reputation
16
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
chennai
Activity points
1,603
ok. nw i m working with orcad 9.1. i know orcad16.1. it is easy to learn protel & altium?
please send the your doubts to this mail ID : chakravarthy80@gmail.com

I will help you.In office we should not access this site.so send to my personal email id.

I will try to help you.

All the best.
chakravarthy,
chennai.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top