Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ADC Understanding-AD7693

Bjtpower_magic

Full Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
One of my project, ex colleague used AD7693 ADC Converter (https://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/AD7693.pdf)
i am new to ADC and i need few clarifications.
Since it mentioned that it has sampling rate of 500KSPS but i fail to understand how timing diagram.
1688482717880.png

Please help me in understanding my assumptions.
1) We have TCYC=2uS=500 KHZ
2) We have TSCK=15nS=66 MHZ

So for each cycle of 66MHZ, it will sample 1 bit so in total for 16bits it will take 16*tsck=16*15=240nS?
So for 1 second, i will have 16bits/240nS=66M bits so my question is how is relation of 500KSPS?
Can you please help me understanding relations?

Hi

Still you mix conversion and communication. These are two different things.
First the ADC internally converts the analog signal into a 16 bit digital value.
After that you can use the SPI to transfer the value.

Klaus

The part has two phases, Acquisition to collect the SAR C array of weight values,
and the conversion phase to convert that arrays state of charges into a digital
value. That at max spped timing takes, worst case, .4 uS uS to get the weighted
values and worst case a max of 1.6 uS to convert those values to digital result.

In parallel with Acquisition process, after last Conversion has completed, one
gets the digital result over SPI with its own timing, which if done right as discussed
prior, does not affect the sample rate.

So .4 uS + 1.6 uS (worst case) = 2 uS = 500K 16 bit SPS.

Note from datasheet :