Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

ADC Understanding-AD7693

Bjtpower_magic

Full Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,
One of my project, ex colleague used AD7693 ADC Converter (https://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/AD7693.pdf)
i am new to ADC and i need few clarifications.
Since it mentioned that it has sampling rate of 500KSPS but i fail to understand how timing diagram.
1688482717880.png

Please help me in understanding my assumptions.
1) We have TCYC=2uS=500 KHZ
2) We have TSCK=15nS=66 MHZ

So for each cycle of 66MHZ, it will sample 1 bit so in total for 16bits it will take 16*tsck=16*15=240nS?
So for 1 second, i will have 16bits/240nS=66M bits so my question is how is relation of 500KSPS?
Can you please help me understanding relations?

Hi,

ADC sampling rate has about nothing to do with SPI interface bit clock frequency.

If you have a bit clock frequency of 66MHz then most probably it will be discontinous. It will be quiet at least for the conversion time.

Rising edge of CONV starts a conversion
Falling edge of CONV starts the interface / data transfer

At least this is what I see from these pictures.I did not read the datasheet. (lack of time)

Klaus

i still try to understand,
we have have CNV signal time=2uS (Conversion time 1.6uS +Acquisition time 0.4uS=2uS), it comes to 500KHZ.

But is it means that within 2uS, we will get 500ksps? if so i think its too high?

Hi,

what`s the problem?
a period time of 2us equals 500 kSmpl/s
and the data transfer is done during acquisition time.

Klaus

Hi.

"/s" means "per second".