Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help-How to boost +7.4v to +75v DC? (for electroluminescent wire driver)

Status
Not open for further replies.

AleXYZ

Junior Member level 3
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am trying to create a portable EL-wire driver that can handle a wide range of wire lengths, up to 100 feet if possible. EL-wire takes roughly 50mW per foot to glow brightly. I've been designing buck converters successfully for about 2 years now, so I thought this would be easy. But....

I am having a problem boosting 7.4 volts to the needed 75 volts. When I do get 75 volts, my bench experiments yield virtually no usable current.

Here are the details:
* Unit will be battery powered, from 2 LiIon cells for a working voltage range of 6-8.4v.
* I am using a dual H-Bridge (already prototyped and tested) to convert +75v to 120 VAC at 400-1500 Hz.
* Unit must be pretty small, in other words I'd like to avoid big heavy transformers if at all possible
* +75v rail must be actively regulated (see circuit)
* Max. output from inverter needed is 75v @ 0.1A which should be enough to power about 100 ft of El-wire
* Want to make the inverter from SCRATCH, not buy an off-the-shelf unit
* I will probably use a newer model PIC microcontroller to handle any PWM timing requirements (the H-Bridge needs it anyway)

Here are the three topologies I've considered:
* Switched-capacitor. Problem is, I haven't found any devices that can go above 30v. Also, their output wattage is somewhat low.
* Flyback transformer. May be my best bet, but haven't found a transformer small enough for the job.