Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RF Board Design Guide

Status
Not open for further replies.

x4ce

Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I am an amateur in the field of PCB design and my experience includes multiple PCBs design of basic digital electronics and STM microcontrollers etc. I have got them manufactured by JLCPCB and they worked, successfully. This is my first basic RF PCB designed in KiCad and requires some guidelines before I go for assembly etc.

The frequency signals range from 250 to 500MHz.

What I know and have done so far:

The lengths of traces carrying the high-frequency signals should be shorter than 1/10 of the wavelength of the highest frequency taking into account the propagation delay due to PCB.

The traces for high-frequency signals should possibly remain straight or should have a radius of curvature.

The width of high-frequency signals should be 3mm in order to match the impedance of 50ohm for PCB of 1.6mm thickness & FR 4.6.[/li][/list]

The guidelines required are:

1. Is the ground fill zone/ place fine on the top layer with RF signals?
2. If ground fill/ plane is not required on the top layer then I need to put via holes for ground pads. Any criteria for this? There should be at least 2 via holes? Distance between them etc.?
3. The pads etc. do no match the trace width (0.3mm), would they affect the impedance matching, and, if so, what is the solution?
4. Should I place a guard ring around the whole PCB or between the input and output antennas?[/li][/list]

I have attached the initial PCB design with component detail on the silk screen for ready reference.