Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Practical VNA calibration methods using Anritsu MS2024B

Status
Not open for further replies.

BusyEng

Newbie level 6
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi folks,

I am very new to the field of RF measurement and need some help to correctly set up the VNA, interfacing cables, connectors and DUT to make a correct measurement. Using my Anritsu MS2024B VNA, I would like to measure the impedance and Return Loss of a 2.4GHz printed antenna (such as a loop, Meander, or Inverted F antenna). These antennas are very small and are printed on very small circuit boards too. There is no room for a SMA connector to be placed on the board. Therefore, my only option is to solder a very tiny coaxial cable to the feeding points of the antenna on the PCB. I use something like Hirose U.FL-2LP-04N2-A-(200) cable that has two UFL connectors on its ends. I cut the cable on one end and come up with a cable that has a UFL connector only on one side. I solder the center wire of the free side of the cable to the feeding point of the antenna on the PCB. I also remove few millimeters of the plastic jacket to expose the shield and solder the shield to the edge of the GND plane somewhere close to the feeding point of the antenna. Then I use a UFL to SMA adapter to connect the tiny coaxial cable to a RG316 cable (such as Amphenol 135110-01-24.00). I attach a SMA to N adapter on the MS2024B to connect the other side of the RG-316 cable to the MS2024B port. The picture here shows the connections that I just explained. CalibrationSetup.jpg

My Questions here are: