Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Why the RTOS need Timer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mountain

Member level 2
Joined
May 22, 2004
Messages
49
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
649
I am using RTOS of TI CCS, but the timer interrupt of OS conflict with my task and other ISR. So I want remove the timer of OS since I do not use any timer function.
Can I do so?
Why the RTOS need Timer?
 

Gomez

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 12, 2002
Messages
125
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,006
The timer of OS is also needed for context switching (I've looked in the code from µCos). I think you will have no task switching more.

Gomez
 

wwwrabbit

Member level 1
Joined
Jul 17, 2003
Messages
36
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
344
Timer is option. I think you can remove it. maybe you will lost some function related with timer provided by OS. :D
 

amraldo

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
1,185
Helped
145
Reputation
290
Reaction score
40
Trophy points
1,328
Location
Egypt
Activity points
5,880
The timer is required for scheduler operation. I have never heard of an OS without a scheduler.
The better solution other than not using the timer is to lock the scheduler when an ISR is working or an important task is running or accessing a critical hardware that does need to be interrupted during its access.
regards,
Amraldo.
 

alex_fn

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Sep 13, 2002
Messages
21
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
329
timr used to produces regular interrupt singals to issue slice ,and the processor context change triger,
 

dipal_z

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
278
Helped
37
Reputation
74
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
3,008
You can't remove the timer from OS, its very critical for OS scheduler without which you will not be able to execute anything.
 

FD357

Member level 2
Joined
Jul 19, 2003
Messages
44
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
200
without interupt from timer it is impossible to make a hard rtos.
 

curgan

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
17
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
138
try another timer rtos use 1 maybe 2 timer if you use pic you canuse the 3rd timer
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top