Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What is "Worst Case Simulation"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

020170

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
231
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,227
When I want to do Worst Case Simulation through simulation tool like spice,

What do I do?

I Know I have to consider many conditions voltage variation, coner simulation.

however I don't know exactly What do I do and What do I observe as power supply variation happens.

thanks.
 

A.Anand Srinivasan

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Oct 15, 2005
Messages
1,804
Helped
257
Reputation
514
Reaction score
39
Trophy points
1,328
Location
India
Activity points
10,680
worst case simulation depends on the spec of the devices you use... if you want to operate the device in a particular region of operation then calculate the value in the edge of that region and simulate to find the value of other parameters at that point....
 

pfd001

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Jul 23, 2005
Messages
410
Helped
45
Reputation
90
Reaction score
10
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,214
worst case simulation depends on your design. you can use corner analysis.
 

Sadegh.j

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
754
Helped
48
Reputation
98
Reaction score
15
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,596
Depending on your design and conditions of operation, the worst case simulation can be a corner case simulation.
 

edwintsu

Member level 4
Joined
Mar 24, 2005
Messages
73
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Location
China
Activity points
1,677
My way: First, do simulation sperately at different temp, process corner and power supplies. Second, accumulate all the worst(min. or max.) conditions. At last do the worst simulation at all worst conditions(temp, power supplies and process corner).

B/R
Edwin
 

    020170

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

amarnath

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Apr 24, 2003
Messages
402
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,141
worst case simulation means, for eg when you simulate an opamp you are interested in its phase margin so that the opamp is stable.so you look for the corner at which the phase margin is least.So the designer should try meeting the spec at this worst case corner, thus ensuring that the design works even at the worst possible operating conditions.

amarnath
 

corel

Junior Member level 1
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
18
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,411
but if every time use simulate to find the worst case,it's troublesome
 

asb1211

Member level 1
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
35
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,496
I don't remember exactly but in cadence, you can choose 3 cases of simulations: worst case, normal case, and best case. You can use the two latter for principle simualtion meanwhile the first one for real operation. Of course you can add a margin to the worst case to make sure it works. Is it what you wonder about?
 

davis_chen

Newbie level 4
Joined
Oct 9, 2006
Messages
7
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,312
you must meet all corner in your simulation, first of all, consider TT, then FF and SS, as a product, you must make sure all condition your IC can works properly.
 

    020170

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

docini

Newbie level 3
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
3
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,302
The worst/best corner condition has to be evaluated by the designer for each spec he is interested in. e.g lets say we are interested in delay of an inverter and that it shouldnt give more than 1 ns delay under any condition. the way we go about is we have to find P(process),V(supplyvoltage),T(temperature) at which delay is worst. we know that Slow process is defined as max. VTH which causes max delay condition. in a similar was min voltage and max temperature is also the worst case for delay. hence we have to ensure that delay is below 1ns at Slow,max temp and min supply voltage. similarly worst case PVT can be derived for any spec like UGB of a amplifier to phase noise of a oscillator. so this helps.
 

quanble

Newbie level 5
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
8
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,314
HI,Why the MAX temperature is the worst case when calculate the delay time ?
As we kouw ,the VTH reduce when temperature increase.So, in my opinion ,the worst case should been ss process ,min voltage and min temp.
Correct me if mistake.


docini said:
The worst/best corner condition has to be evaluated by the designer for each spec he is interested in. e.g lets say we are interested in delay of an inverter and that it shouldnt give more than 1 ns delay under any condition. the way we go about is we have to find P(process),V(supplyvoltage),T(temperature) at which delay is worst. we know that Slow process is defined as max. VTH which causes max delay condition. in a similar was min voltage and max temperature is also the worst case for delay. hence we have to ensure that delay is below 1ns at Slow,max temp and min supply voltage. similarly worst case PVT can be derived for any spec like UGB of a amplifier to phase noise of a oscillator. so this helps.
 

holddreams

Full Member level 6
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
351
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
7
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Shanghai
Activity points
4,243
I usually simulate the circuits for the following corners:
Process:tt,ff,fs,sf,ss
Voltage:min,type,max
Temperature:min,type,max
 

    020170

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

suria3

Full Member level 5
Joined
Mar 5, 2004
Messages
304
Helped
17
Reputation
34
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,042
Worst case simulation is where your simulation results is below than the specification of your products that you design for. So, after seeing the worst case corner simulation results as others mentioned, you need to optimize your design again in order to meet the least design specs.
 

lijianheng

Full Member level 2
Joined
Sep 29, 2006
Messages
125
Helped
13
Reputation
26
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,826
worst case is the case your simulation result is worst to fit your design spec. In general it is "ss" 125°C corner.
 

asb1211

Member level 1
Joined
Jul 24, 2007
Messages
35
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,496
holddreams said:
I usually simulate the circuits for the following corners:
Process:tt,ff,fs,sf,ss
Voltage:min,type,max
Temperature:min,type,max

Processes: tt, ff, fs, sf, ss are what I know when working with Cadence. Is there any equivalent thing in ADS?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top