What is the best way to learn Eagle pcb?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Is there any books or download I can buy or get to learn Eagle pcb? I am not a beginner in pcb design, I have been doing layout with OrCad and PADS for years.

Also, can Eagle pcb design input schematic drawn from OrCad?

I have to rephrase it, can I input net list generated by OrCad Schematic Capture to generate a pcb file in Eagle. I went to Cadsofusa.com:

Is the nettoz.zip able to translate the net list generated by OrCad Schematic to Eagle pcb layout?

There are various netlist converter ULPs written by people although I haven't used them recently. If it is a small circuit it is probably quicker to simply re-draw it.

Keith

Thanks

I am more concern about having to pay for the schematic capture. I want to just buy the standard layout for $315. Where can I find the ULP?

Is there a book or document to get start with Eagle pcb and schematic? I would prefer to have hard copy so I can put notes on it as I learn.

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

Thanks, you are of big help. I am going to print out the V6 manual.

Another question. I look at the layers, if I get the standard version, I have only 6 layer, how am I going to fit the silkscreen, drill, solder mask into just 6 layers as these take up 5 layers already.

It covers 6 routing layers. You can have as many additional layers as you like. Do you really need 6 routing layers?

Keith

Thanks for the reply, so I can use the other layers as long as I can fit routing into 6 layers?

No, I have no plans to even use 6 layer. 4 layers is plenty for me already.

Yes, it is only routing layers that are restricted. Unfortunately they don't do a 4 layer version - it is 2, 6 or 16.

Keith

Thanks