Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What is the best way to learn Eagle pcb?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
214
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,716
Is there any books or download I can buy or get to learn Eagle pcb? I am not a beginner in pcb design, I have been doing layout with OrCad and PADS for years.

Also, can Eagle pcb design input schematic drawn from OrCad?
 

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
214
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,716
I have to rephrase it, can I input net list generated by OrCad Schematic Capture to generate a pcb file in Eagle. I went to Cadsofusa.com:



Is the nettoz.zip able to translate the net list generated by OrCad Schematic to Eagle pcb layout?
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
There are various netlist converter ULPs written by people although I haven't used them recently. If it is a small circuit it is probably quicker to simply re-draw it.

Keith
 

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
214
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,716
Thanks

I am more concern about having to pay for the schematic capture. I want to just buy the standard layout for $315. Where can I find the ULP?
 

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
214
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,716
Is there a book or document to get start with Eagle pcb and schematic? I would prefer to have hard copy so I can put notes on it as I learn.
 

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
214
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,716

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
It covers 6 routing layers. You can have as many additional layers as you like. Do you really need 6 routing layers?

Keith
 

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
214
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,716
Thanks for the reply, so I can use the other layers as long as I can fit routing into 6 layers?

No, I have no plans to even use 6 layer. 4 layers is plenty for me already.
 

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
Yes, it is only routing layers that are restricted. Unfortunately they don't do a 4 layer version - it is 2, 6 or 16.

Keith
 

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
214
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,716
Thanks
Price of the Eagle software is very reasonable. I think OrCad or PADS are going to cost a lot more. Now I have to experiment using net list from OrCad and create pcb with Eagle.
 

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
214
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,716
Thank Tpetar.

I am not planning to transfer old OrCad pcb files to Eagle pcb layout. I am just trying to get the .mnl files from OrCad schematic capture to generate .pcb files of Eagle. I am trying to learn as few as possible. If I can still use OrCad schematic capture, then I don't have to learn the Eagle Schematic capture and don't have to pay for it.

I just printed out the Eagle manual so I can start learning the pcb layout.
 

Alan0354

Full Member level 4
Joined
Sep 6, 2011
Messages
214
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
29
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
2,716
Is it me or is it the manual? I download the Manual V6 and I started on p39 and I got stuck on page 40.



Nothing in the instruction about displaying the part in the library work according to the instruction. I open the schematic and follow about using "ADD" nothing happen.

The control panel don't even look the same!!!

Anyone has better documentation that show how to get started in this? I leaned OrCad, Altera Quartus, Microwave Office just by their manual, they were all very simple and clear!!!
 
Last edited:

keith1200rs

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
10,877
Helped
2,064
Reputation
4,128
Reaction score
1,597
Trophy points
1,403
Location
Yorkshire, UK
Activity points
57,269
I don't know what link you think you posted, but I don't need a Humbucker!

Keith.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top