Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What does X"46" represents in VHDL code ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shsshs

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new in Fpga. I am studing vhdl. I saw code like that

type CHAR_RAM_TYPE is array(0 to 39) of std_logic_vector(7 downto 0);

signal charRAM : CHAR_RAM_TYPE := ( 0=>x"41", 1=>x"6E", 2=>x"64", 3=>x"79", 4=>x"FE", 5=>x"47", 20=>x"31", 21=>x"34", 22=>x"2F", 23=>x"30", 24=>x"36", 25=>x"2F", 26=>x"30", 27=>x"37", others=>x"A0");

the thing that I want to ask is that does this representation X"46" mean "0 1 0 0 0 1 1 0" ? And does X show hegzadecimal?

thanks for help
moreover I want to help for lcd driver. I read some and am expecting leading information about lcd driver from your help. thnks.

Re: help for fpga

shsshs said:
I am new in Fpga. I am studing vhdl. I saw code like that

type CHAR_RAM_TYPE is array(0 to 39) of std_logic_vector(7 downto 0);

signal charRAM : CHAR_RAM_TYPE := ( 0=>x"41", 1=>x"6E", 2=>x"64", 3=>x"79", 4=>x"FE", 5=>x"47", 20=>x"31", 21=>x"34", 22=>x"2F", 23=>x"30", 24=>x"36", 25=>x"2F", 26=>x"30", 27=>x"37", others=>x"A0");

the thing that I want to ask is that does this representation X"46" mean "0 1 0 0 0 1 1 0" ? And does X show hegzadecimal?

thanks for help
moreover I want to help for lcd driver. I read some and am expecting leading information about lcd driver from your help. thnks.
Hi - yes the X means that the following numbers in the quotes are hexadecimal. Note that each digit represents exactly 4 bits. Section 4.d in this tutorial may be helpful for you.