Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What are some strategies for efficient single side PCB route

Status
Not open for further replies.

david90

Advanced Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
What are some rules/strategies that I should follow so that I can minimize the number of wire jumpers on my PCB?

I often find myself routing a signal that it blocks out other signals or find myself in a situation where I can't route a power/gnd trace to an IC because a trace closed it off.

Does PCB route planning start at the schematic stage?

I'm a total newbie btw.

Taking placement/routing into consideration should be done at the schematic stage & often the schematic is looked at during placement/routing to see if the circuit can be re-arranged to enable problems routing to be solved.

For instance, inputs/outputs on chips can often be swapped around to aid routing, moving components (r/c/l etc) to the other side of each other may help yet still keep the circuit function the same.

If you have problems routing the power, you should be routing the power/ground to the IC's etc before anything else.

Sometimes there is no choice but to use jumpers to enable a short/direct track. Going the long way around just to save using a jumper can mean that your track is more receptive to EMI etc.

It will all come with experience/practise & when you have laid a section out, have another look at it & think "how can I do that better" rather than thinking "oh good that bits done now, I dont have to touch it again" :D

Re: What are some strategies for efficient single side PCB r