Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Voltage Reference Vs. Voltage Regulator

Status
Not open for further replies.

ee484

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jan 4, 2005
Messages
153
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,559
voltage regulator versus voltage reference

Hi, all.

I have used voltage regulator as my reference. But, I have currently known there was a device called voltage reference. I would like to make a good voltage reference for my ADC and wondering if voltage regulator would do the job pretty well or not. Voltage reference is much better than voltage regulator for referencing voltage for a ADC?

For example, if Nyquist ADC is being used, and it requires refence votlage since it does not have bandgap reference in it. Which one would you like to use?

Any comments? Pros and cons?

Thanks,

Best,
B
 

surianova

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
411
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
ASIA
Activity points
3,276
voltage reference only can drive resisitive load unless use together with buffer. Voltage regulator can use to drive resistive and capacitive load.
 

forkschgrad

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
271
Helped
18
Reputation
36
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Philippines
Activity points
2,363
hi,

can you suggest some good books discussing their difference. My idea is voltage reference is used as voltage source. Is voltage reference a form of voltage regulator? tnx.
 

surianova

Advanced Member level 1
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
411
Helped
30
Reputation
60
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
ASIA
Activity points
3,276
forkschgrad said:
hi,

can you suggest some good books discussing their difference. My idea is voltage reference is used as voltage source. Is voltage reference a form of voltage regulator? tnx.
i don't have book. but basiaclly

1. Voltage regulator need a reference for the input. So, the input is voltage reference.

2. Voltage reference normally a bandgap which is independent of power supply and temperature.

3. Actually u can straight use the voltage reference to drive your circuit with a buffer, but nomally u need higher voltage. So, u use non-inverting confuguration to bring the DC voltage higher like voltage regulator.

4. other difference is the reference voltage has high output impedance and regulator has low output impedance.


5. If your voltage is used to drive gate or capitance, voltage reference with high output impedance is good enough.
 

leo_o2

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
1,324
Helped
277
Reputation
556
Reaction score
241
Trophy points
1,343
Location
China
Activity points
5,761
In my opinion, voltage reference has very small driving capability (<several mA depends on product) while voltage regulator can usually drive up to several hundreds of mA or even several A.
Voltage regulator also has fast response according to big driving capability. For ADC, I suggest voltage reference because big driving capability is not necessary. And many voltage references will have better TC than voltage regulator. TC might be a very important parameter for ADC reference like various meters application.
 

tia_design

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
113
Helped
4
Reputation
8
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
2,210
Voltage Regulator is too expensive. If the circuit is Switch Cap, then using DAC to generate reference signal
 

stocol

Newbie level 6
Joined
Oct 24, 2007
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,353
regulator,i think u mean ldo,serve as power supply.
i think what u need for ur adc is volt ref,generally bandgap voltref.
it needs trimming to obtain accurrate value
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top