Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[SOLVED] Visual Basic - Microchip

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hooseria

Newbie level 5
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello, I've decided to get into microcontrollers.
I am an advanced VBA programmer, so my question is, will it be worth my while buying a book on VB for Electronics, and not opting for changing my programming Language. I'm also about to buy the PICKit 3.

Will I be able to programm Microchips via the PICKit3 on Visual Basic. I've searched the internet and could not find the answers to my querries.

Kind Regards

You can't run VB programs in a PIC. You should be able to write VB programs that can interface with PICs though.

All VB programs are MASSIVE, even if the executable (exe) looks small enough to fit in PIC memory, it would rely on the Windows operating system files and probably run-time libraries and DLLs as well. VB programs will not run in isolation of the PC/Windows environment.

If you want to program in BASIC, (not VB) because that's the language you are familiar with, look at either Oshonsoft's compilers at www,oshonsoft.com or at MikroBasic at www.mikroe.com.

Personally, I hate the excess baggage and waste in VB programs, I find programming on devices that run for a year on a watch battery to be far more satisfying.

Brian.

Ah Hah, the plot thickens, Thank you Brian. So the book that i've seen Visual Basic for Electronic Engineering "Applications", is for running programs to INTERFACE with microcontrollers, not program them.