Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

VHDL code for connecting ADC to FPGA

Status
Not open for further replies.

aria62

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
44
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Location
IRAN-Guilan
Activity points
1,614
vhdl code for adc

dear friends,
I'm learning VHDL .i want an example of VHDL code for connecting a flash ADC
to the FPGA.

thanks a lot
 

alieeldin

Member level 2
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
46
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,652
adc vhdl

you will make only block to read the word from ADC and then make your decision

if you want this block send for me
--
alie eldin
 

vishwa

Banned
Joined
Aug 11, 2005
Messages
147
Helped
15
Reputation
30
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
0
vhdl adc

Hi

The interface between ADC and FPGA is not the unique, because it is different for different available ADCs in market.

So first, you decide which ADC you are going to use. Then from the datasheet of ADC, we can design proper interface between ADC and the FPGA.
 

    aria62

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

coolsniper

Junior Member level 3
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
29
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
123
adc fpga

if the ADC here is Anolog Digtial Converter, the first thing to design the interface is send a clock to ADC.
 

aria62

Member level 2
Joined
Mar 19, 2006
Messages
44
Helped
5
Reputation
10
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Location
IRAN-Guilan
Activity points
1,614
adc with fpga

thank you all for your help.
dear vishwa this is the datasheet of my ADC: TDA8703
 

alieeldin

Member level 2
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
46
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
1,652
adc in fpga

hi
for example if you work the FPGA or CPLD on 50Mhz you will make clock divider to get the 40Mhz which will operate the ADC
and then make process with sensetivity list on (input clock and the input data from ADC)
this process will operate when the rising edge of clk or the variation in the input from ADC and then save this data in buffer and so ...

note :
if you work by verilog replace process to always

i hope that i can help you
---
alie eldin
 

    aria62

    Points: 2
    Helpful Answer Positive Rating

prankris

Newbie level 1
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
1
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,284
adc vhdl code

hello
can i get the vhdl code for interfacing adc 0801 to altera up2 education kit
 

missbirdie

Member level 1
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
35
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
Egypt
Activity points
1,544
adc+fpga

hi.. If u r using an FPGA starter kit u may find ADC & DAC already existing in the kit...then all u have to do is to enable it by using SPI interface i think.. u'd better check the user guide i guess.. i hope this what u need.
 

bmsec

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jan 18, 2011
Messages
13
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,402
Re: adc vhdl

you will make only block to read the word from ADC and then make your decision

if you want this block send for me
--
alie eldin


I have a similar project wherein :
1.There is an onboard ADC in Altera fpga Stratix II EP2S180 kit, to accept analog waveform.
2.The ADC output has to be digitally amplified by the vhdl code dumped in fpga.
3.The amplified output goes to DAC and outputted.

Kindly tell me about the DAC and the ADC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top