Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Ultra low power consumption 256Mb SPI memory for MCU

Status
Not open for further replies.

inklen

Full Member level 1
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hello,

I'm new to this topic, so please bear with me. I already posted this question to another forum (on another website), hopefully this is the right place to ask.

I'm trying to come up with a prototype which will be writing ~70kB/sec of data using ultra low-power MCU (well, that's that idea). The amount of data is up to 256 Mb. I googled and the best I found is Macronix products, for example - this Serial NOR Flash. But I really have no idea if this is the right tool for the job and what are my options overall.
I have to point out - this should be ultra low power solution (for Vcc 1.65 - 3.3 V or something like that).

I'd appreciate any suggestions - from links to articles to available products.
I prefer TI MCU's but that's just something I have worked with. It could be any other ultra low power MCU in case the memory requires a particular one or it has better characteristics.

Also, SPI is preferred as I understand this is the best interface supported by MCU's.

Thank you.
Alex

What kind of data (bus width) are you looking for? Bear in mind those Macronix memories are configurable as 64 Megabytes x 1 bit, 32 Megabytes x 2 bit or 16Megabytes x 4 bits. Is your data requirement in bits or bytes? Even if it is only one bit you need four memories and with SPI you need four select lines, one to each memory device.

Brian.