Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

the most intelligent power supply system

Status
Not open for further replies.

buenos

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
957
Helped
40
Reputation
82
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Sunnyvale, California, USA
Activity points
9,084
what should to can, the the most intelligent power supply system?
how many ic-s should i use for that?
does anyone know ic-s, for intelligent power supply systems?

in the first months of the next year, i would like to design a DSP board (maybe with a Blackfin processor, or other), and i decided, that it should have a very intelligent/modern/professional power management system. Just for developing my design-practice, an for fun. It will work from a wall-adapter, so it not have to has battery circuits.

I thought that it should have the following capabilities:
-multi rail (analog video/audio circuits, digital DSP/peripherals)
-soft start
-soft on/off
-power sequencing
-different standby/low power modes (switch on/off peripherals, CPU core-voltage scaling, when clock changing, controlled by the DSP)
-RTC power battery
-multirail voltage monitoring (signaling and reset, power fail)
-hot-swap (maybe, but not important)
-others??????????????????

ok i know, it can be implement with 2 LDOs (digital/analog), but it is not so professional.
is there any one-chip solution for that?
what about notebook-PCs? what ic-s do they use?
 

buenos

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
957
Helped
40
Reputation
82
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Sunnyvale, California, USA
Activity points
9,084
what you wrote, this is a 220V or 110V powerline circuit.
what i talking about, is an on-board power distribution system, for the on-board chips.
 

out to lunch

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,446
your specifications are fairly broad and very vague. In order to suggest an IC for your application you need to be much more specific. This is what is needed for every rail you want controlled:
Input Voltage, Output Voltage, Output Voltage Tolerance, Max Output Current
 

buenos

Advanced Member level 3
Joined
Oct 24, 2005
Messages
957
Helped
40
Reputation
82
Reaction score
21
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Sunnyvale, California, USA
Activity points
9,084
in: 5...12V (from wall adapter) out:
+3,3V digital
+3,3V analog
+1,8V digital
all what it needs is 3 LDOs, as i wrote it earlier, but i would like more. why? i wrote it too. the point is not an end product, instead the design process itself. i am a student now, and i want to exercise the latest technologies in this board.

Added after 1 minutes:

tolerance: +-2% . current: 0.5A, and 1A in the digital 3.3V
 

out to lunch

Newbie level 6
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
14
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,446
This is a suggested topology...

Use 5V as your input voltage. you will need a supply that can support 8 Watts.

Use the EL7532 (datasheet: https://www.intersil.com/data/fn/fn7435.pdf) to create a 3.3V rail. Use this rail to power both the Analog and Digital Rails. If you need separation, then use the output of the 7532 regulator for the Analog rail and then use an LC filter to supply the Digital rail.

Use the EL7530 (datasheet: https://www.intersil.com/data/fn/fn7434.pdf) to create the 1.8V rail. Use the 3.3V rail as the input to this regulator.

The 3.3V rail will initiate soft start after the 5V rail has exceeded about 2.3V. Once the 3.3V rail has exceeded approx 2.3V, the 1.8V rail will initiate soft start.
 

7rots51

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
1,184
Helped
25
Reputation
50
Reaction score
12
Trophy points
1,318
Activity points
9,637
check www.ti.com site ,they have many LDO types and chips that have multiple output.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top