Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

substrate or well contact

Status
Not open for further replies.

p_shinde

Full Member level 5
Joined
Feb 25, 2006
Messages
297
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
tokyo
Activity points
3,466
hi,
the substrate or well contact which is put in the transistor, ( p + is put for n transistor ....) now where is this p+ connected to ? to n diffusion or gate?

please let me know whats done in industry as till now in my diploma we used to connect this well contact to the gate.

waiting for reply.
Prasad
 

truebs

Full Member level 5
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Messages
311
Helped
22
Reputation
44
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Asia
Activity points
2,980
Usually substrate connection is connected to power supply, although this can vary , as this depends mainly on the circuit and its designer.
As far as i think it should not be connected to gate, i've not come across such a condition so far.
although you can connect it to source diffusion area...its also a common practice.
 

pandit_vlsi

Member level 3
Joined
Feb 15, 2006
Messages
62
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Location
b'lore,india
Activity points
1,816
yes truebs is correct.
i also used connect well or substrate to source&i never connected substrate to gate.
pandit
 

jackson_peng

Full Member level 2
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
141
Helped
23
Reputation
46
Reaction score
9
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Shanghai, China
Activity points
2,380
substrate are negative biased in Digital and most Analog Circuit, which meas the p-substrate is connected to VSS, and n-substrate is connected to VDD.

however, this would could cause body effect when source are not connect to ground or supply.
 

singu31

Newbie level 5
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
10
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,373
You should not connect the substrate to gate. That is a bad idea. Usually they are connected to VDD or GND. But by varying the VSB( Source to body voltage) we can change the Threshold voltage of the device becos of the dependence of Vt on body effect. If VSB is not equal to zero there is a drop in the threshold voltage's nominal value becos of body effect.
 

semi_jl

Member level 4
Joined
Feb 24, 2006
Messages
78
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,813
I think there may be something wrong with the connection.
 

ananish

Member level 1
Joined
Dec 23, 2005
Messages
33
Helped
3
Reputation
6
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,288
Location
Chennai,India
Activity points
1,628
substrate connection should be connected to source not to the gate. this is done to reduce the body effect.
 

Ikon

Member level 1
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
32
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
1,623
Hi,

In CMOS we come across "LATCH-UP" . If this occurs then our ckt /transistor fails.
In order to avoid this latch up, the layout engineers use Substarte and well contacts.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top