Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

slow rising ramp integrator opampp based

Status
Not open for further replies.

dipnirvana

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
211
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
2,296
Please look at the circuit attached . I am feeding sq. wave to the opamp and expecting a triangular ramp signal at the output. I am getting it for sure , but i am also getting the ripple of ~70mV at the square wave change over.

Please help me to remove the ripple.I am probing at the "Out".



Thanks.

 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,277
Helped
14,226
Reputation
28,713
Reaction score
12,920
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
279,569
1. What's a ripple in this case. The term is far from a clear meaning. Are you talking about a simulation or a real measurement?
2. I guess, you are observing non-ideal OP effects. They are present in any real OP circuit.
3. As a first step, use an OP of sufficient quality rather than the poor class B output stage LM324.
 

dipnirvana

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
211
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
2,296
thnaks.

Ripple means , a big ~70mV change when i measure it with AC coupling in oscilliscope. What parameter make this swing ?
 

LvW

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
May 7, 2008
Messages
5,842
Helped
1,742
Reputation
3,488
Reaction score
1,343
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Germany
Activity points
39,327
Hi dipnirvana,

I have some doubt if your circuit can work properly because the pos. opamp input is biased with Vcc/2. The opamp output must be at Vcc (saturation). Any dc feedback is missing.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
48,277
Helped
14,226
Reputation
28,713
Reaction score
12,920
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
279,569
The bias would be O.K. if you assume a 0/5V square wave input signal. But some kind of feedback (time-continuous or -discrete)
is actually necessary to set the integrator level.

The discussed ripple problem shows however, that the circuit has been (at least partly) operated out of saturation.
So I was confident, that dipnirvana has managed the feedback/integrator reset problem somehow.
 

dipnirvana

Full Member level 4
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
211
Helped
26
Reputation
52
Reaction score
4
Trophy points
1,298
Location
India
Activity points
2,296
Yes u r right , i am using ADC to sense the levels and than trigger the square wave.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top