Not open for further replies.

biswami

Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi all,
I am an electronics engg graduate from India.Used to be an an active member of edaboard during my college days.I am in java for the last one year or so.However my interest lies in DSP processor design.So i want to make the shift from sw to chip design.I would appreciate some inputs on how i should go ahead in making the shift.I must get some formal training in VHDL,and the tools in some good institute.Many thanks in advance.
Biswa

Hi
My recomendation is tat not to take up any courses.
u get a lot of books to start over.
try doughlas smith for VHDL & Verilog and CMOS design by Weste.
any how u need to do some digital fundamentals brush up.
morris mano would be helpful

biswami

Helpful Answer Positive Rating
thanks a lot srinivas for ur reply...ya i do have to brush up ...mano is great...have to go thru the others also..since i m in office most of the time i guess i have to study online..any e-book equivalent to mano??Thanks again!!

Added after 1 hours 53 minutes:

i have heard abt a couple of good institutes in India related to chip design..like sandeepani,etc....maybe getting their diploma would help my cause...any opinion on those?thanks

sandeepini!!!!!!!!
they charge u like hell!!!!!!
tat is CG-Coreel a xilinx brand distributor in INDIA.
Even i was stuck at whether to choose VLSI or Embedded for my PG and i chose Embedded 4 my masters but wasn't happy with it.
But now i tookup a project under VLSI and i am asked to refer these books and they are simply great.
if u need pdf's try
verilog golden reference but this would be after u brush up ur basics.
do mail me if u need any of the materials

Hi,