Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

RFID Antenna & Tech questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Altruistic69

Newbie level 4
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
Hi,

I'm a project manager for one RFID company, I have been reading alot about the technical part for my own understanding but I still couldnt understand some / most part of it. Appreciate if you guys can help me with some questions, I'm a beginner.. so please use simple english when explaining to me.

1) Currently I'm doing UHF RFID project, in my country there's a regulation by the government which stated the maximum EIRP is 2 Watt.
a) How do i calculate it? I mean how do I know whether my team is following this?
b) Appreciate if you can explain to me what is EIRP & ERP (the difference too) and the sub elements that I should understand in measuring it.

2) I read about antenna gain and some other stuff that important during configuring or purchasing antenna (7dBi / 9dBi / 12dBi). How should I go about this? How do I choose?
a) What is (dB)? How do I calculate it?
b) What is (dBm)? How do I calculate it?
c) What is (dBi)? How do I calculate it?
d) What us (dBd)? How do I calculate it?

1 b) EIRP = Equivalent Isotropic Radiated Power, ERP = Effective Radiated Power (without the "isotropic")