Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

rf (1GHz) power transmitter problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

roronoa

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,461
rf transmitter problem

Hi everyone,i have a project which involve harvesting Rf(1Ghz) energy then convert it into usable Dc. the dc should be 5V 350mA.

My problem now is the transmitter in the lab only produces 3dbm,Is this transmitter possible to act as the transmitter which im goin to use since 3dbm is only 2mW?

If not ,cant anyone tell me how to contruct a rf transmitter which can transmit output power around 3W since the system need 1.75 watt.

thanks for replying.
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,494
Helped
14,051
Reputation
28,357
Reaction score
12,709
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,187
rf transmitter problem

You may want to check first, which frequency bands are provided for transmitting higher power RF by your local regulations. 2.45 GHz may be a promising candidate.
 

roronoa

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,461
Re: rf transmitter problem

its a experiment project ,can i just built 1 RF transmitter ?or can i use the 3dbm transmitter in lab?
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,494
Helped
14,051
Reputation
28,357
Reaction score
12,709
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,187
rf transmitter problem

RF legal regulations have to be kept with experimental setups as well, unless you are working in a shielded room. (Of course, scientists don't always care about).

A lab RF generator can be used with a power amplifier.
 

roronoa

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,461
Re: rf transmitter problem

a power amplifier, isit a special power amplifier that is use for RF?any recommendation on how to come out with the power amplifier circuit?thx for replying.
 

Audioguru

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jan 19, 2008
Messages
9,042
Helped
2,107
Reputation
4,208
Reaction score
1,927
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Toronto area of Canada
Activity points
56,797
rf transmitter problem

You need special antennas to transmit in a narrow beam and receive in that narrow beam.
Or the power will go in a sphere and you will receive only a tiny amount of it.
 

roronoa

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,461
Re: rf transmitter problem

im using a yagi antenna for the transmitter
 

FvM

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 22, 2008
Messages
47,494
Helped
14,051
Reputation
28,357
Reaction score
12,709
Trophy points
1,393
Location
Bochum, Germany
Activity points
276,187
rf transmitter problem

It sounds unlikely to achieve > 50% efficiency as you stated above.
 

roronoa

Junior Member level 2
Joined
Dec 4, 2007
Messages
23
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,461
Re: rf transmitter problem

anyway to increase the efficiency?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top