Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Question about comparator

Status
Not open for further replies.

hayowazzup

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
117
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,136
Does response time of a comparator in the datasheet means the time it takes the output to see the change of the input? and the slew rate is the time for the output to change its state?

if i am correct about the response time, is there a way to improve it?

thank you
 

eklikeroomys

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
151
Helped
40
Reputation
80
Reaction score
38
Trophy points
1,308
Location
South Africa
Activity points
2,144
I think you are correct about the response time, and the slew rate is the rate of change in voltage with respect to time (dv/dt). You can probably improve the response time by increasing the gain of the comparator. Are you constructing your own comparator or are you using an off-the-shelf comparator?
 

hayowazzup

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
117
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,136
Yes, i am using a LM339 comparator, will it help if I increase the closed loop gain (positive feedback) ?
 

eklikeroomys

Full Member level 3
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
151
Helped
40
Reputation
80
Reaction score
38
Trophy points
1,308
Location
South Africa
Activity points
2,144
For what purpose are you using the comparator? In order to use the LM339 as a voltage comparator, there should be no closed loop circuit.
 

hayowazzup

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
117
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,136
Hi, I would like to use it as a schmitt trigger.
 

hayowazzup

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Oct 9, 2010
Messages
117
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Activity points
2,136
i read it through but it doesn't tell anything about the response time.
 

leo_o2

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Sep 3, 2004
Messages
1,324
Helped
276
Reputation
554
Reaction score
239
Trophy points
1,343
Location
China
Activity points
5,761
If you use IC, the only way to improve speed is reduce the capacitance for output and input nodes.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top