Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Problem with running Calibre on ubuntu

Status
Not open for further replies.

vandenm

Newbie level 3
Joined
Aug 31, 2005
Messages
4
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,325
HI

I have ubuntu already installed on my laptop. Has anyone had any issues running calibre, say with missing library files or kernel?

Cheers
 

gliss

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
692
Helped
75
Reputation
150
Reaction score
16
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
5,892
ubuntu + calibre

I've seen Calibre run on Ubuntu 7. I don't think there is an issue.
 

ams123

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
11
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,365
Re: calibre on ubuntu

Hi,

I have calibre (2008) installed in my ubuntu 9.10, but have not got it work yet.
I got error: A FATAL CS ERROR for caldrclvseve feature detected.

But I am able to see the calibre GUI pop up, and after a while, it says it encounters license problem, and shut off GUI right after.

Anyone could share if you ever had similar problem?

Alan
 

tyy38

Newbie level 5
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
9
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,283
Location
Shanghai, China
Activity points
1,322
Re: calibre on ubuntu

ams123 said:
Hi,

I have calibre (2008) installed in my ubuntu 9.10, but have not got it work yet.
I got error: A FATAL CS ERROR for caldrclvseve feature detected.

But I am able to see the calibre GUI pop up, and after a while, it says it encounters license problem, and shut off GUI right after.

Anyone could share if you ever had similar problem?

Alan
It is license error.
 

ams123

Newbie level 6
Joined
Apr 24, 2009
Messages
11
Helped
1
Reputation
2
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,283
Activity points
1,365
Re: calibre on ubuntu

but when I enter command "lmstat -a", it shows me all licenses are up.
so I think my license seems working fine.
 

R00KIE

Full Member level 3
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
150
Helped
23
Reputation
46
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Portugal
Activity points
1,255
calibre on ubuntu

My best guess is that you have tampered with the license file or you are using an invalid one.

Check the server log for errors.
Also lmdiag may be better suited to check if there is any problem.
 

alston

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,315
Re: calibre on ubuntu

Calibre is a free ebook management that works on Linux, OS X and Windows.It is meant to be a complete e-library solution and thus includes library management, format conversion, news feeds to ebook conversion, as well as e-book reader sync features and an integrated e-book viewer.
It’s very easy to install calibre on both 32-bit and 64-bit x86 machines.Just make sure you have xdg-utils installed on your system(search “xdg-utils” in System/Administration/Synaptic Package Manager),then run this command in terminal(Applications->Accessories->Terminal):
sudo python -c "import urllib2; exec urllib2.urlopen('http://status.calibre-ebook.com/linux_installer').read(); main()"
 

user_asic

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Nov 13, 2009
Messages
100
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
2
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Canada
Activity points
1,836
calibre on ubuntu

Works fine (2008) on ubuntu 9.04.
 

alston

Newbie level 4
Joined
Dec 1, 2009
Messages
5
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,281
Activity points
1,315
Re: calibre on ubuntu

Hi;
I tested Calibre on Windows and I liked it so much I upgraded my Ubuntu PCs to Jaunty to install the version from the 'Official' repository.

Installation went fine and I copied over my library from the Windows installation. Everything seemed fine until I clicked on the View button. Nothing happens - just a couple of seconds of wait then nothing. Reader does not open. I unchecked all of the viewer options and can get PDF format open with an external reader but nothing for the FB2 or EPUB formats.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top