Continue to Site

Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronics Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

problem solving HFSS Rectangular wave guide.

Status
Not open for further replies.

aparnakrishna

Junior Member level 2
Helped
Reaction score
Trophy points
Activity points
I am new to hfss and try to simulate a rectangular wave guide on hfss.but unfortunately am not getting the xy plot correctly.Can anyone tell me how to select port and modes of excitation.

Hello Aparna

rectangular waveguide is the most simplest form of structures to simulate.All you gotta do is draw your waveguide according the dimensions,then assign the boundary conditions of the the four sides of the waveguide. then your two sides that are the supposed to port excitation sides have to be excited with waveports.

assign the number of ports based on the mode you want to see. and you should be fine

Regards
Chachito.

I made a waveguide too when I started. its best to solve tutorial and then an actual problem.

u can use antenna design kit for hfss 12 and 13 and it help u to design this

thankz,,,
but my problem is that how to assign port nd integration line.I followed the steps given in the manual.but my XY plot is not matching with that of manual.I dont know how to correct it.

my rectangular wave guide values
a=2.286cm
b=1.016cm.
I got it from manual.I tried each and every step according to manual.but i dont know why my XY plot is wrong.

Dear Aparna according to your dimensions its an x-Band rectangular waveguide. i have simulated a simple waveguide structure for its first Dominant mode.Please find this attachment appended for your reference should you need any further information.Please feel free to contact me