Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

Pr*tell 9\9\SE Drill File Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

E-design

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
2,014
Helped
507
Reputation
1,016
Reaction score
407
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
14,195
ascii drill file

Hi

Can anybody tell me what is the format that Pr*tel 9\9\SE exports its drill data?

When I import this drill file into C@mtastic it seems not to recognize the format and reports errors.

Is there a way to convert the Pr*tel format so C@mtastic would accept it?

Thanks
 

Phil woz ere

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 12, 2002
Messages
130
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
968
protel99 drill file

The standard settings for Protel99 drill files do not match
the standard settings for the gerber files.

Check the gerber document tab and note down
1: Units (metric or imerial)
2: Format (4:3 example)
3: Zero suppression (leading, trailing or none)
4: absolute or relative coordinates.

Then check under the drill document tab and set the settings to match
the settings on the gerber files tab.
If you do not see all the options you need to install SP6.

This small bug has been fixed in Protel DXP.

All should then be OK.

Phil 8)
 

E-design

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
2,014
Helped
507
Reputation
1,016
Reaction score
407
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
14,195
Thanks, I will check that.

The thing that worries me is when I compare a sample drill file exported from Camtastic and the one from Protel they look completely different.

I have included it below.
 

Phil woz ere

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 12, 2002
Messages
130
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
968
That Protel file you show is not the correct ASCII format file.
I see no options in Protel to change it.
I will have a look tommorrow and see if I can come up with something
that will help you.

Phil 8O
 

Phil woz ere

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 12, 2002
Messages
130
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
968
Hi E-Design...

You are looking at the Protel .TXT drill file.
This is the ASCII drill file that you need for manufacture
and not the Binary drill file.

Phil :wink:
 

E-design

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Messages
2,014
Helped
507
Reputation
1,016
Reaction score
407
Trophy points
1,363
Activity points
14,195
Phil woz ere said:
Hi E-Design...

You are looking at the P*otel .TXT drill file.
This is the ASCII drill file that you need for manufacture
and not the Binary drill file.

Phil :wink:
Right you are!

I loaded the .TXT file this time and it seems to accept it. What tricked me was the .DRL file that P*otel generates.

So, what is the .DRL (binary) file used for?

E
 

Phil woz ere

Full Member level 2
Joined
Feb 12, 2002
Messages
130
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,298
Location
UK
Activity points
968
Right you are!

I loaded the .TXT file this time and it seems to accept it. What tricked me was the .DRL file that P*otel generates.

So, what is the .DRL (binary) file used for?
Search me, Protel genereates it and I always delete it because like a lot of the other data Protel generates it is not used.
I send out Only the neccesary 274X gerber files and the txt drill file, No gerber drill centers no binary drill files no aperture lists no report files.

Phil 8)
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top