Welcome to EDAboard.com

Welcome to our site! EDAboard.com is an international Electronic Discussion Forum focused on EDA software, circuits, schematics, books, theory, papers, asic, pld, 8051, DSP, Network, RF, Analog Design, PCB, Service Manuals... and a whole lot more! To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Register Log in

PowerLine Communication systems - info needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

indynetra

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Messages
36
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
419
PowerLine Communication

Hi,
I would like to know more about powerLine communication systems. if somebody have experianced on this field, mostly welcomes yours comments, ckts designs etc...

Regards...,,,
Indy
 

flatulent

Advanced Member level 5
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
4,629
Helped
489
Reputation
980
Reaction score
150
Trophy points
1,343
Location
Middle Earth
Activity points
46,689
book

The best book on this subject I have found is by Klaus Dostert.

In general there are European standards for different frequency bands for different uses.
 

eltonjohn

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Feb 22, 2002
Messages
1,435
Helped
64
Reputation
126
Reaction score
28
Trophy points
1,328
Activity points
16,328
HOME PLUG

Hi did an evaluation on a Siemens ETHERNET POWER MODEM .Most of these products are based on the Intellon chip .
The architecture of this chip is very interesting .. The comunication is carried out in around 80 channels . The chip when is connected to power network tries to mesure the TRANSFER COURBE in the whole 80 channels
and it selects the best ones ..It only tries to comunicate through the best channels (the ones that offer best propagation of the signal)
This type of architecture should make it very reliable ..
But i found if your network is the same power circuit .. it works well!
8 ~10 Mbits .. But if the units are in a different circuit ..(different breaker
protection) The whole things stinks ..

I also tried to go to my neighbord's house and connect from there ..
no HOPE !..

So still is a gadget ! . not a reiliable all terrain device ..
I think that wireless is better ..!
anyways check the intellon web site !
and the http://www.homeplug.org/index_basic.html

good luck
 

ASIC

Full Member level 3
Joined
May 18, 2001
Messages
164
Helped
2
Reputation
4
Reaction score
1
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
1,205
That's the same method as the original ADSL specification


ASIC
 

koky

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 12, 2001
Messages
145
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Italy
Activity points
1,097
If you want powerline communication for industrial use can see ST7535 SGS-THOMSOM 2400bps poerline modem
 

indynetra

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Messages
36
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
419
thanks, anybody have some reference circuits regarding this ???

indy
 

koky

Full Member level 2
Joined
May 12, 2001
Messages
145
Helped
11
Reputation
22
Reaction score
8
Trophy points
1,298
Location
Italy
Activity points
1,097
ethernet or 2400 bps?
 

indynetra

Member level 1
Joined
Feb 14, 2003
Messages
36
Helped
0
Reputation
0
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,286
Activity points
419
obeviously ethernet :wink:

indy
 

Mr.Cool

Advanced Member level 2
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
664
Helped
87
Reputation
178
Reaction score
60
Trophy points
1,308
Activity points
7,113
Do it yourself home power line communication project

here is a project on the home power line communication topic

w*w.ece.msstate.edu/classes/ece4512/projects/2000_spring/power_line_communication/docs/design.pdf

Mr.Cool
 

mr_ghz

Full Member level 5
Joined
Apr 1, 2002
Messages
289
Helped
7
Reputation
14
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,298
Activity points
3,551
Hi indy

several years ago I designed a prototype of a powerline modem. It uses direct sequence spread-spectrum and was able to communicate with 115kBit/s. It is possible to feed one phase and to get the receiving signal out of another phase. The distance you can reach depends on output-power (and law...). With 100mW an inhouse communication is possible, with about 1W you can also leave your house.

Bye
 

ntfreak

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 22, 2002
Messages
152
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
UK
Activity points
1,249
Have a look at ST7536,ST7537,ST7538 on ST website, you will also find app notes with schematics/source code.
HTH w*w.hth.com/plm-24/ have info about the snap protocol, commonly used in these analogue modems.
I think ST are the only company left doing analogue modems, most are now looking at dsp based systems for higher data rates.
I know ST are working on a new dsp based modem.

Regards
NTFreak
 

_i386sx25_

Member level 3
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
61
Helped
9
Reputation
18
Reaction score
3
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
340
As far as i know ST chips are only "analog front ends". No signal processing , no clever modulation schemes. If you add some data
correction speed lowers below 2400 baud.

Intellon , Itran and Domosys also works in PLC business.
 

ntfreak

Full Member level 3
Joined
Feb 22, 2002
Messages
152
Helped
6
Reputation
12
Reaction score
0
Trophy points
1,296
Location
UK
Activity points
1,249
This is true all the work/processing has to be done in the micro, but it fine for low cost simple applications.

NTFreak
 

haymeron

Member level 3
Joined
Dec 31, 1999
Messages
66
Helped
10
Reputation
20
Reaction score
5
Trophy points
1,288
Activity points
661
Re: PowerLine Communication

indynetra said:
Hi,
I would like to know more about powerLine communication systems. if somebody have experianced on this field, mostly welcomes yours comments, ckts designs etc...

Regards...,,,
Indy
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

enclosed technical information (pdf files)

regrdas - haymeron
 

bobcat1

Advanced Member level 4
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
1,288
Helped
99
Reputation
198
Reaction score
34
Trophy points
1,328
Activity points
8,547
Re: PowerLine Communication

Motorola have power line modem referance design for the new DSP568 includeing source code

search for dsp568 on Motorola site


best


Bobi
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Toggle Sidebar

Part and Inventory Search

Welcome to EDABoard.com

Sponsor

Top